Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » Nice Scam attempt!
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
College phishing »
« Transfcu  
AuthorAll Replies


Kibbles
Premium
join:1999-07-31
Mission Viejo, CA
reply to Dude111
Re: Nice Scam attempt!

Is wvps212-241-210-148.vps the actual account/website the scammer has hosted by webfusion...if so can they be reported for fraud..then again they more than likely are using a stolen credit card?


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
·AT&T Midwest

Yes, the actual website is at wvps212-241-211-79.vps.webfusion.co.uk. However, the owner of that computer may not even be aware of the problem. The computer has been trojanized, and the installed malware is running the phish page.
--
AT&T dsl; Westell 327w modem/router; SuSE 10.1; firefox 2.0.0.12


removed
I'm the bobblehead
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:

reply to Kibbles
said by Kibbles See Profile :

Is wvps212-241-210-148.vps the actual account/website the scammer has hosted by webfusion...if so can they be reported for fraud..then again they more than likely are using a stolen credit card?
My personal experience is that 90% of these scams are simply being uploaded via insecure scripts. The server's administrator and the ISP have no idea that this is being done ... this is why it helps to submit phishing attempts to the phishtracker and services such as SpamCop.

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
Fort Lauderdale, FL

reply to Kibbles
said by Kibbles See Profile :

Is wvps212-241-210-148.vps the actual account/website the scammer has hosted by webfusion...if so can they be reported for fraud..then again they more than likely are using a stolen credit card?
Yes it is either as removed See Profile and nwrickert See Profile suggested, or as you stated purchased hosting using a previous phish victim's card and personal data.

If the later then the phisher opted for the 2.0 plus plan or the pro plan here: »www.webfusion.co.uk/virtual-private-servers/ I can tell it is either of those two Virtual Private Hosting (VPS) Plans running on IP 212.241.210.148. A quick audit reveals that the machine is named VPS 342830, and is one of the above two plans, because it is running Win2k3 server:




Also has FTP running and Remote Terminal Services. Not sure of the significance of the sendmail_from moonbear@chinagirlson.net




as that domain was never set up on that IP or hosting service. However it was infiltrated by Turkish hackers: »www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=@c···lson.net

said by Dude111 See Profile :

Is anyone filling out thier info?.....
ergo, the suggestion to submit to »/phishtrack, as the focus will be on taking it down, plus it will be picked up by block lists.

said by Dude111 See Profile :

......I have tried searching for the files (log files of entered data) but i cant find it,it must be emailing the data off server.......
Yes, it is emailing the data. loginfinish.do.php dated 02/29 contains the email address where the data is being sent.




The rest of the phish files are here:




Heads up sent to Webfusion.co.uk via the account support panel:




MGD
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersCollege phishing »
« Transfcu  


Sunday, 12-Oct 17:22:03 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 9 years online! © 1999-2008 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [147] It's Cable TV Rate Hike Season
· [98] Wholesale Bandwidth Prices Still Dropping
· [96] Symmetrical FiOS No Longer Qualifies For Bundle Discounts
· [95] Is Comcast Cooking Up a 22Mbps/5Mbps Tier?
· [93] Time Warner's Ugly Feud With LIN TV
· [77] Half Of New iPhone Owners Came From Verizon
· [70] Supreme Court TiVo/Echostar Ruling
· [70] Microsoft: U.S. Broadband Policy 'Total Failure'
· [69] Verizon Unveils Blackberry Storm
· [64] XOHM Online In Additional Launch Markets
Most people now reading
· Extreme HD and Essentials [Verizon FIOS TV]
· Homeowner Says Cable Mistake Filled Kitchen With Raw Sewage [Comcast Cable TV]
· [NFL] NFL Week 6 Games, 2008 [Sports Chat]
· Flu Shot...good or bad?? [Rants, Raves, & Praise]
· Leaving TekSavvy [TekSavvy]
· Fake MS update letter w/attachment [Security]
· Safty Question about K & T wiring. Very worried... [Home Repair & Improvement]
· Should hourly workers work for free thru lunch [General Questions]
· Hit from behind [General Questions]
· Feature Added in the future? [Comcast HSI]