 drakeada Premium join:2000-12-27 Roswell, GA
| [Phish] Bellsouth webmail Does this look legit??
Dear BELLSOUTH Webmail Subscriber, > > To complete your BELLSOUTH Webmail account, you must reply to this email > immediately and enter your password here (*********) > Failure to do this will immediately render your email address deactivated > from > our database. > > You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH > Webmail > account at »webmail.bellsouth.net/ > > Thank you for using BELLSOUTH.NET ! > > THE BELLSOUTH.NET TEAM > | |
|
 |
  captokita Premium join:2005-02-22 Calabash, NC
| said by drakeada :> immediately and enter your password here (*********) > Failure to do this will immediately render your email address deactivated > from > our database. Yeah, because legit emails ask for passwords all the time.... 
In other words, NO. 
But as Doctor Olds said, check the headers of the email for clues. Bet it didn't come from a Bellsouth IP. | |
|
 |   Doctor Olds I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me. Premium,VIP join:2001-04-19 1970 442 W30 clubs:
| Re: [Phish] Bellsouth webmail said by captokita :Yeah, because legit emails ask for passwords all the time....  In other words, NO. Yes and no as most phish emails don't give you the option of:
"You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH Webmail"
Which doesn't ask for your password that I can see in the plain text posted by the OP. -- Whats the point of owning a supercar if you cant scare yourself stupid from time to time? | |
|
 |  |   captokita Premium join:2005-02-22 Calabash, NC
| Re: [Phish] Bellsouth webmail said by Doctor Olds :Yes and no as most phish emails don't give you the option of: "You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH Webmail" Which doesn't ask for your password that I can see in the plain text posted by the OP. Yes, but the asking of the password immediately sets off the "phish-o-meter". Chances are, the link to the Bellsouth webmail was fake as well. To which, you log in, and they then have your password.
No company in this day and age will ask you for your password through email, and if they do, are not worth dealing with. | |
|
 anonyjane
join:2008-02-10 Billingsley, AL | It's fake. Please forward the message with headers to securityfeedback@bellsouth.net | |
|
 |  |
 |  |  anonyjane
join:2008-02-10 Billingsley, AL
| Re: [Phish] Bellsouth webmail It's definitely fake. BS/AT&T would never ask a customer to update that information via e-mail. They have the account administration site (»https://uversecentral1.att.com) where customers could take care of things like that. Plus I'm an "insider". | |
|
 |  |  |  |
 |
 |  anonyjane
join:2008-02-10 Billingsley, AL
| Re: [Phish] Bellsouth webmail You don't have to activate the webmail. Once the account is created, it can be used right away. Even if you never log in to your webmail account, it never goes "inactive" unless you go into account administration (a secure site) to suspend the account yourself. | |
|
  removed Crisis Management Squad Premium,VIP join:2002-02-08 Houston, TX clubs: | This is 100% fake... very common phish now that spammers and phishers are starting to use compromised ISP email accounts. | |
|
 |
|
 |