Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Phish] Bellsouth webmail
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
11399
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Anyone know what this number is? »
« [Credit Card Fraud] ReservationRewards Norwalk CT $10 Charge App  
AuthorAll Replies


removed
Crisis Management Squad
Premium,VIP
join:2002-02-08
Houston, TX
clubs:
reply to drakeada
Re: [Phish] Bellsouth webmail

This is 100% fake... very common phish now that spammers and phishers are starting to use compromised ISP email accounts.

anonyjane

join:2008-02-10
Billingsley, AL

reply to pcdebb
You don't have to activate the webmail. Once the account is created, it can be used right away. Even if you never log in to your webmail account, it never goes "inactive" unless you go into account administration (a secure site) to suspend the account yourself.


pcdebb
RIP dadkins
Premium
join:2000-12-03
Tampa, FL
clubs:
reply to drakeada
from the way i'm reading it, it's not asking for an "update". it almost sounds like he needs to "activate" a webmail account he signed up for?


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:

reply to anonyjane
said by anonyjane See Profile :

It's definitely fake. BS/AT&T would never ask a customer to update that information via e-mail. They have the account administration site (»https://uversecentral1.att.com) where customers could take care of things like that. Plus I'm an "insider".
OK. Thanks for the clarification since the OP never came back to post the full email header details.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?

anonyjane

join:2008-02-10
Billingsley, AL

reply to Doctor Olds
It's definitely fake. BS/AT&T would never ask a customer to update that information via e-mail. They have the account administration site (»https://uversecentral1.att.com) where customers could take care of things like that. Plus I'm an "insider".


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:

reply to anonyjane
How do you know? Do you have the raw HTML with full headers? We just went through this with a PayPal email that quite a few posters swore was fake and when the actual headers were finally posted it was a legitimate email after all.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?

anonyjane

join:2008-02-10
Billingsley, AL
reply to drakeada
It's fake. Please forward the message with headers to securityfeedback@bellsouth.net


captokita
Premium
join:2005-02-22
Calabash, NC

reply to Doctor Olds
said by Doctor Olds See Profile :

Yes and no as most phish emails don't give you the option of:

"You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH Webmail"

Which doesn't ask for your password that I can see in the plain text posted by the OP.
Yes, but the asking of the password immediately sets off the "phish-o-meter". Chances are, the link to the Bellsouth webmail was fake as well. To which, you log in, and they then have your password.

No company in this day and age will ask you for your password through email, and if they do, are not worth dealing with.


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:

reply to captokita
said by captokita See Profile :

Yeah, because legit emails ask for passwords all the time....

In other words, NO.

Yes and no as most phish emails don't give you the option of:

"You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH Webmail"

Which doesn't ask for your password that I can see in the plain text posted by the OP.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?


captokita
Premium
join:2005-02-22
Calabash, NC

reply to drakeada
said by drakeada See Profile :

> immediately and enter your password here (*********)
> Failure to do this will immediately render your email address deactivated
> from
> our database.
Yeah, because legit emails ask for passwords all the time....

In other words, NO.

But as Doctor Olds said, check the headers of the email for clues. Bet it didn't come from a Bellsouth IP.


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:

reply to drakeada
Yes, from the little bit you have posted it does look legit, but that is because the headers and the raw message HTML are missing which are needed in order to make a true determination..
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?


drakeada
Premium
join:2000-12-27
Roswell, GA

Does this look legit??

Dear BELLSOUTH Webmail Subscriber,
>
> To complete your BELLSOUTH Webmail account, you must reply to this email
> immediately and enter your password here (*********)
> Failure to do this will immediately render your email address deactivated
> from
> our database.
>
> You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH
> Webmail
> account at »webmail.bellsouth.net/
>
> Thank you for using BELLSOUTH.NET !
>
> THE BELLSOUTH.NET TEAM
>
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersAnyone know what this number is? »
« [Credit Card Fraud] ReservationRewards Norwalk CT $10 Charge App  


Sunday, 29-Nov 10:10:10 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [122] Time Warner Cable Fires Broadside At Broadcasters
· [112] New AT&T Ad Campaign Hits Back At Verizon
· [96] Apple Joins AT&T Verizon Snark Fest
· [87] New Bill Takes Aim At Higher Verizon ETFs
· [80] TiVo Sees Record Customer Losses
· [74] Verizon CEO: Hulu Will Be Dead Soon
· [74] Weekend Open Thread
· [69] In-Flight Internet Headed For Bumpy Landing?
· [62] Thanksgiving Open Thread
· [40] EFF Wages War On Fine Print
Most people now reading
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Evading throttling with uTP / uTorrent 1.9a [TekSavvy]
· [Newsgroups] Newzleech down? [Filesharing Software]
· [Snow Leopard] NFS Mounts - no more Directory Utility [All Things Macintosh]
· [WIN7] Outlook express under Windows 7? [Microsoft Help]
· ToC 4th boss - Preliminary Strategy for Twin Valkyr [World of Warcraft]
· Digital Channel Lineup without a Box??? [Comcast Cable TV]
· Anyone have a problem [Software]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]