Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Phish] Bellsouth webmail
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
Anyone know what this number is? »
« [Credit Card Fraud] ReservationRewards Norwalk CT $10 Charge App  
AuthorAll Replies


captokita
Premium
join:2005-02-22
Calabash, NC

reply to drakeada
Re: [Phish] Bellsouth webmail

said by drakeada See Profile :

> immediately and enter your password here (*********)
> Failure to do this will immediately render your email address deactivated
> from
> our database.
Yeah, because legit emails ask for passwords all the time....

In other words, NO.

But as Doctor Olds said, check the headers of the email for clues. Bet it didn't come from a Bellsouth IP.


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:

said by captokita See Profile :

Yeah, because legit emails ask for passwords all the time....

In other words, NO.

Yes and no as most phish emails don't give you the option of:

"You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH Webmail"

Which doesn't ask for your password that I can see in the plain text posted by the OP.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?


captokita
Premium
join:2005-02-22
Calabash, NC

said by Doctor Olds See Profile :

Yes and no as most phish emails don't give you the option of:

"You can also confirm your email address by logging into your BELLSOUTH Webmail"

Which doesn't ask for your password that I can see in the plain text posted by the OP.
Yes, but the asking of the password immediately sets off the "phish-o-meter". Chances are, the link to the Bellsouth webmail was fake as well. To which, you log in, and they then have your password.

No company in this day and age will ask you for your password through email, and if they do, are not worth dealing with.
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and PhishbustersAnyone know what this number is? »
« [Credit Card Fraud] ReservationRewards Norwalk CT $10 Charge App  


Saturday, 05-Dec 15:48:12 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [147] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [127] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [104] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [99] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [85] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [81] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [80] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [74] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Wife might have to work in.... Iowa for a few months!!! [General Questions]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Connecting to Google Voice Via SIP [VOIP Tech Chat]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· [How to] Install Asterisk on an Asus WL-520GU router [VOIP Tech Chat]
· Farewell [Bell Canada]
· DNS options, what are YOU using? [TekSavvy]
· An Excellent Guide About Google Voice And Sip Sorcery [VOIP Tech Chat]
· First commercial tool to crack BitLocker arrives (Updated) [Security]