  rolande Certifiable Premium,Mod join:2002-05-24 Powell, OH clubs:
Host: Linksys AT&T Midwest
| reply to nwrickert Re: Where did my spam go?
So, strangely enough I have noticed the same trend in Spam drop off on my own mailserver over the past few weeks which I host behind my DSL line on a static IP using my own direct MX forwarding. I have probably been getting 10% of the normal Spam volume hitting my SpamAssassin filters. I wonder if the DNSBL's have gotten more aggressive. I did a variety of maintenance work and updates to my SpamAssassin install during this time and I thought that was related but the messages are not even getting beyond the intial milters on port 25 if they are even coming in at all. The only stuff I see getting through has fairly valid headers and SpamAssassin has been catching pretty much all of that crap.
The good thing is I am married to a super advanced warning system that detects problems the instant they occur. All I know is is when the whining starts about missing email, then there is a problem. No whining going on here yet...  -- Ignorance is temporary...stupidity lasts forever!
»www.thewaystation.com/ »blog.thewaystation.com/ |
|
  David No,there is another. Premium,VIP join:2002-05-30 Granite City, IL clubs:
·DIRECTV
·magicjack.com
·AT&T Midwest
| said by rolande :The good thing is I am married to a super advanced warning system that detects problems the instant they occur. All I know is is when the whining starts about missing email, then there is a problem. No whining going on here yet... You employ THE WIFE too? What version you running? I am running BLONDE 1.0 rev. 2 -- If you have a topic in the direct forum please reply to it or a post of mine, I get a notification when you do this. Koetting Ford, Granite City, illinois... YOU'RE FIRED!!
|
|
  Rosie
@pacbell.net
| reply to nwrickert Definitely not getting emails
Someone sent an email reply to me and CC'd a friend -- he received it, I didn't. (I hadn't put this person's email address into my Outlook Express address book though.) Other reports of not receiving emails also. This is awful. I don't know what to do now. I'm paying $15.99 a month just to keep my stupid sbcglobal.net email address also (my Internet connection is included in my rent). This is ridiculous. |
|
  David No,there is another. Premium,VIP join:2002-05-30 Granite City, IL clubs: | Did the someone get a bounce message back? If he/she did all they should have to do is send it to removeme@sbc.sbcglobal.net and they typically unblock it. |
|
 tonyreo
join:2004-02-04 Mentor, OH | I have tried the "removeme@sbc.sbcglobal.net", it didn't work. I hate to complain but what the heck are they doing?
|
|
  David No,there is another. Premium,VIP join:2002-05-30 Granite City, IL clubs: | Can you post the error or message you are getting? |
|
 tonyreo
join:2004-02-04 Mentor, OH
| David,
Here is the text of error message:
Delete Prev Next Reply/All Forward/Inline Open Trash 276 of 297 Inbox Draft Junk Mail Sent Trash
Date: Fri 4 Apr 06:10:19 EDT 2008 From: Mail Delivery Subsystem Add To Address Book | This is Spam Subject: Returned mail: Cannot send message within 8 hours To: breo08@jcu.edu
The original message was received at Thu, 3 Apr 2008 21:49:01 -0400 (EDT) from mirapoint.jcu.edu [76.227.135.244]
----- The following addresses had permanent delivery errors ----- tonyreo@scbglobal.net
Reporting-MTA: dns; mirapoint.jcu.edu Arrival-Date: Thu, 3 Apr 2008 21:49:01 -0400 (EDT)
Final-Recipient: rfc822; tonyreo@scbglobal.net Action: failed Status: 4.4.7 Remote-MTA: DNS; scbglobal.net Last-Attempt-Date: Fri, 4 Apr 2008 06:10:19 -0400 (EDT)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Attachment: message.rfc822 (1k bytes) Open
Date: Thu, 3 Apr 2008 21:49:01 -0400 (EDT) From: Subject: Receipt for message: To: "Tony"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Delete Prev Next Reply/All Forward/Inline Open Trash 276 of 297 Inbox Draft Junk Mail Sent Trash |
|
  FJ007
@qwest.net
| reply to nwrickert Re: Where did my spam go?
I work for a medium-sized ISP and recently we have noticed an increase in customers who cannot send to AT&T, yahoo, or sbcglobal, even though the IP address they are sending from is not blacklisted. We pay close attention to RFC compliance, especially reverse DNS matching both the MX record for the zone as well as the mailserver greeting. Sometimes they receive an error message, other times they do not. Here is the latest error message received by a customer:
Response: 553 5.3.0 nlpi046,DNSBL:RBL To request removal of, xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx, send the complete error message in an E-mail to removeme@sbc.
I have created a yahoo group called Internet Service Providers aimed primarily at ISPs who are experiencing difficulty sending to sbcglobal, AT&T, et al. This group is also open to any user who is having difficulty sending email to these domains, and will be closely moderated. Feel free to join in the discussion! |
|