<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<rss version="2.0" xmlns:blogChannel="http://backend.userland.com/blogChannelModule">

<channel>
<title>New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner in Security</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r20208791</link>
<description></description>
<language>en</language>
<pubDate>Wed, 09 Dec 2009 19:02:08 EDT</pubDate>
<lastBuildDate>Wed, 09 Dec 2009 19:02:08 EDT</lastBuildDate>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20432616</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1419052"><b>tomazyk</b></A> : If you didn't run the installer then you should be safe. Check in Add/Remove programs if you have XPAntivirus listed. If so follow the link in ahulett's post for instructions on removing nastie.]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20432616</guid>
<pubDate>Mon, 05 May 2008 00:41:28 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20431828</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1376551"><b>Jesse2</b></A> : Erm...do i have the virus?  I tested out your link and NOD32 did not stop it.  I exited it right away and it changed the look of my browser.<br><br>AM I SAFE?!]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20431828</guid>
<pubDate>Sun, 04 May 2008 21:30:03 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20431620</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1383253"><b>Reimer</b></A> : Hmm, Firefox blocks it from even loading at all.]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20431620</guid>
<pubDate>Sun, 04 May 2008 20:30:24 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20430158</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1419052"><b>tomazyk</b></A> : Yes I thought that was your intention with both questions. With my post I only wanted to warn less experienced users from doing foolish thing.  :)]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20430158</guid>
<pubDate>Sun, 04 May 2008 13:43:50 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20429753</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/431519"><b>Anav</b></A> : Not to worry Toma, My intention was too highlight poorly worded advice or suggestion in a security thread.  Asking people to test this is bordering on ............   <br><br>I was hoping a MOD would notice but I guess this week I am clearly meant to be disappointed (my Habs lost last night and are out of the playoffs :-( )<br><br>THanks for the link ahulett.<br><small>--<br>Ain't nuthin but the blues! "Albert Collins". <br>Leave your troubles at the door! "Pepe Peregil" De Sevilla.  Just Don't Wifi without WPA, "Yul Brenner"<br><br><A HREF="http://www.llamaworks.ca">LlamaWorks Equipment</a></small>]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20429753</guid>
<pubDate>Sun, 04 May 2008 11:38:05 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20428614</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/764437"><b>ahulett</b></A> : More information on this rogue security product:<br><br><b>Microsoft Malware Protection Center</b><br><i>Program:Win32/XPAntiVirus</i><br>&raquo;<A HREF="http://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Entry.aspx?Name=Program:Win32/XPAntiVirus" >www.microsoft.com/security/porta&middot;&middot;&middot;ntiVirus</A><br><br><small><br>--<br>Aaron Hulett | Senior Spyware Researcher | Microsoft Malware Protection Center<br>This posting is provided "AS IS" without warranty, and confers no rights.</small>]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20428614</guid>
<pubDate>Sun, 04 May 2008 00:22:06 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>...</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20428577</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1502125"><b>Millenniumle</b></A> : The link opens two successive script windows telling us their product is needed and safe.  Then a page opens indicating a scan was performed, finding three nasties.  Then a succession of more script windows open prompting to download and run their product.  The download is a 65K file full of what is no doubt a bundle of joy.<br><br>The exploit here is the user.]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20428577</guid>
<pubDate>Sun, 04 May 2008 00:09:06 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20427261</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1419052"><b>tomazyk</b></A> : No DO NOT test that link. It is link to XPAntivirus - rogue antivirus. They offer you a free scan of your system - which of course tells you that your computer is not safe and then they offer you installation of their antivirus. DO NOT INSTALL IT.]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20427261</guid>
<pubDate>Sat, 03 May 2008 18:40:32 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20425832</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/431519"><b>Anav</b></A> : What are you recommending we test????<br>Or does that link show how to remove??]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20425832</guid>
<pubDate>Sat, 03 May 2008 12:49:58 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>New Variant Of Intrusive Online Scanner</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20208791</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1263732"><b>Gas Guzzler</b></A> : It calls itself xponlinescanner.com and I was hit twice today while visiting the NY Post newspaper wesbsite.<br><br>Its some kind of malware that tricks you to install some fake antispyware program. It appears on legitimate websites.<br><br>We saw these kind of browser highjackers last year too.<br><br>One of the old security threads that discussed the problem is this one:<br>&raquo;<A HREF="/forum/remark,19471952?hilite=">YouTube - Major League Baseball Strikes out</A><br><br>To test how this behaves on your system go here:<br>xponlinescanner.com/2008/1/freescan.php?aid=77011816<br>(edited)]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20208791</guid>
<pubDate>Sat, 22 Mar 2008 18:00:58 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

</channel>
</rss>
