www.broadbandreports.com
  republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   AllHot TopicsGalleryFTP Files






how-to block ads


 
Forums » US Cable Support » W.O.W. » Phishing Email?
 
Search Topic:
  Social:
topic feed
 
Posting
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Post a:
Post a:
WGN HD Vs. CSN HD »
AuthorAll Replies

JackSparrow

join:2003-12-25
Troy, MI
·WOW Internet and C..


edit:
March 26th, @07:23PM

Phishing Email?

So I just got an email telling me to confirm my WOW Email Address:

quote:
To: (Recipient List Suppressed)
Sender: jsward6@cogeco.ca
From: supportteam@j-mail.info
Reply-to: supportteam@j-mail.info
Subject: CONFIRM YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS

Dear Wowway Subscriber

This mail is to inform all our {WOWWAY} users that we will be upgrading our
site in a couple of days from now. So you as a Subscriber of our site you
are required send us your Email account details so as to enable us know if
you are still making use of your mail box. Further be informed that we will
be deleting all mail account that is not functioning so as to create more
space for new user. so you are to send us your mail account details which
are as follows:

*User name:
*Password:
*Date of birth:

Failure to do this will immediately render your email address deactivated
from our database.

You can also confirm your email address by logging into your Wowway account
at »webmail.wowway.com/

Thank you for using WOWWAY.COM !
FROM THE WOWWAY SUPPORT TEAM

It looks extremely fishy, mainly due to the fact that it wants my password and DoB, and that its from a cogeco email and a j-mail.info address, both of which have absolutely nothing to do with WOW or the webmail backend.. There was also the fact that I received the email on only one of my WOW email accts.

Just wanted to let y'all know

EDIT: if it helps anyone, here are the headers:

quote:
From - Wed Mar 26 19:13:45 2008
X-Account-Key: account2
X-UIDL: il1!!e1d"!bD&!!_
Received: from smtp-7.wideopenwest.com (smtp-7.wideopenwest.com [10.75.2.8] (may be forged))
by pop-8.dnv.wideopenwest.com (8.12.8/8.12.8) with ESMTP id m2QN3ig0025464;
Wed, 26 Mar 2008 18:03:44 -0500
Received: from psmtp.com (exprod7mx229.postini.com [64.18.2.182])
by smtp-7.wideopenwest.com (8.12.11.20060308/8.12.11) with SMTP id m2QN3SX6010316;
Wed, 26 Mar 2008 18:03:28 -0500
Received: from source ([216.221.81.25]) by exprod7mx229.postini.com ([64.18.6.14]) with SMTP;
Wed, 26 Mar 2008 19:03:27 EDT
Received: from cogeco.ca (smtp2.cogeco.ca [216.221.81.29])
by fep9.cogeco.net (Postfix) with SMTP id 489D9BAC;
Wed, 26 Mar 2008 17:20:45 -0400 (EDT)
To: (Recipient List Suppressed)
Sender: jsward6@cogeco.ca
From: supportteam@j-mail.info
Reply-to: supportteam@j-mail.info
Subject: CONFIRM YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS
X-Mailer: Cogeco Webmail - complaints to abuse@cogeco.ca ( 80.255.59.244 - jsward6@cogeco.ca )
X-Originating-IP: 80.255.59.244
Date: Wed, 26 Mar 2008 16:20:43 -0500
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
Message-id:
X-pstn-neptune: 3/1/0.33/63
X-pstn-levels: (S: 0.37124/99.69140 CV:99.9000 R:95.9108 P:95.9108 C:98.6951 )
X-UIDL: il1!!e1d"!bD&!!_

CableCal

join:2007-12-16
Saint Clair Shores, MI
Yeah, WOW! will never send you an email to confirm your email. The registration process is confirmation enough and you pay to have it whether its used or not. Its part of your package. This is definitely a phishing scam of some sort.


bewale
Killemall
Premium
join:2000-08-08
Royal Oak, MI
clubs:
reply to JackSparrow
Not to mentioned the English is terrible.

Total phishing scam. WOW doesn't know my DOB, how could they possibly use that to verify. lol.
--
"In a world of compromise, some don't."

CableDaddy3

join:2005-03-23
Grayling, MI

reply to JackSparrow
If I were to create a phising email, I would at least try and make it sound real. That thing gave me a headache trying to decipher it. There's no commas when needed and the wording is horrible. Maybe they should have gotten an english speaking person to write it.

JackSparrow

join:2003-12-25
Troy, MI
haha yeah good points. i just browsed over it quickly the first time i read it.

so i reported the guy to the cogeco abuse email, and now for some reason cogeco is sending me an email every 10 minutes or so which is annoying


JDMac
Premium
join:2007-03-17
Westland, MI
Haven't seen this one show up in any of my WOW! email accounts, but I have seen one worded similarly in one of my third party email accounts...


tc1uscg

join:2005-03-09
Saint Clair Shores, MI
reply to JackSparrow
Just send'em a bunch of crap. Give them some support email address to the FBI and become 200 years old fast.
Forums » US Cable Support » W.O.W.WGN HD Vs. CSN HD »

Most commented news this week
· [137] Nation's Largest ISPs Crafting Fake National Broadband Policy
· [106] Apple: 1 Million 3G iPhones Sold In 3 Days
· [98] Don't Fear The Bandwidth Apocalypse
· [94] Bell Canada Devises Backup Plan To Kill Wholesale Competitors
· [90] Xbox 360 Gets Netflix Streaming
· [79] AT&T's Latest VRAD Headache: Graffiti
· [76] San Fran IT Admin Holds City Network Hostage
· [72] XM/Sirius Merger Held Up In Face Of New Requirements
· [66] Bell Canada: Throttling Aids Innovation
· [66] The Worst iPhone Data Plans In The World
Sunday, 20-Jul
04:55:56
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
8th year online! © 1999-2008 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF