<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<rss version="2.0" xmlns:blogChannel="http://backend.userland.com/blogChannelModule">

<channel>
<title>Phishing Email? in W.O.W.</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r20230654</link>
<description></description>
<language>en</language>
<pubDate>Sat, 11 Oct 2008 08:48:51 EDT</pubDate>
<lastBuildDate>Sat, 11 Oct 2008 08:48:51 EDT</lastBuildDate>

<item>
<title>Re: Phishing Email?</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20262420</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1171315"><b>tc1uscg</b></A> : Just send'em a bunch of crap. Give them some support email address to the FBI and become 200 years old fast.  :D :D]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20262420</guid>
<pubDate>Tue, 01 Apr 2008 08:33:35 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: Phishing Email?</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20236819</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1446831"><b>JDMac</b></A> : Haven't seen this one show up in any of my WOW! email accounts, but I have seen one worded similarly in one of my third party email accounts...]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20236819</guid>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 18:10:07 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: Phishing Email?</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20234328</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/920255"><b>JackSparrow</b></A> : haha yeah good points.  i just browsed over it quickly the first time i read it.<br><br>so i reported the guy to the cogeco abuse email, and now for some reason cogeco is sending me an email every 10 minutes or so which is annoying]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20234328</guid>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 12:09:31 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: Phishing Email?</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20233648</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1178119"><b>CableDaddy3</b></A> : If I were to create a phising email, I would at least try and make it sound real. That thing gave me a headache trying to decipher it. There's no commas when needed and the wording is horrible. Maybe they should have gotten an english speaking person to write it.]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20233648</guid>
<pubDate>Thu, 27 Mar 2008 10:21:08 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: Phishing Email?</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20232154</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/182469"><b>bewale</b></A> : Not to mentioned the English is terrible. <br><br>Total phishing scam.  WOW doesn't know my DOB, how could they possibly use that to verify.  lol.<br><small>--<br>"In a world of compromise, some don't."</small>]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20232154</guid>
<pubDate>Wed, 26 Mar 2008 23:43:35 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Re: Phishing Email?</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20231772</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/1512394"><b>CableCal</b></A> : Yeah, WOW! will never send you an email to confirm your email. The registration process is confirmation enough and you pay to have it whether its used or not. Its part of your package. This is definitely a phishing scam of some sort. ]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20231772</guid>
<pubDate>Wed, 26 Mar 2008 22:30:32 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

<item>
<title>Phishing Email?</title>
<link>http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20230654</link>
<description><![CDATA[<A HREF="/useremail/u/920255"><b>JackSparrow</b></A> : So I just got an email telling me to confirm my WOW Email Address:<br><br>   <blockquote><small>quote:</small><hr>To: (Recipient List Suppressed)<br>Sender: jsward6@cogeco.ca<br>From: supportteam@j-mail.info<br>Reply-to: supportteam@j-mail.info<br>Subject: CONFIRM YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS<br><br>Dear Wowway Subscriber<br><br>This mail is to inform all our {WOWWAY} users that we will be upgrading our<br>site in a couple of days from now. So you as a Subscriber of our site you<br>are required send us your Email account details so as to enable us know if<br>you are still making use of your mail box. Further be informed that we will<br>be deleting all mail account that is not functioning so as to create more<br>space for new user. so you are to send us your mail account details which<br>are as follows:<br><br>*User name:<br>*Password:<br>*Date of birth:<br><br>Failure to do this will immediately render your email address deactivated<br>from our database.<br><br>You can also confirm your email address by logging into your Wowway account<br>at &raquo;<A HREF="http://webmail.wowway.com/" >webmail.wowway.com/</A><br><br>Thank you for using WOWWAY.COM !<br>FROM THE WOWWAY SUPPORT TEAM<br><hr></blockquote><br><br>It looks extremely fishy, mainly due to the fact that it wants my password and DoB, and that its from a cogeco email and a j-mail.info address, both of which have absolutely nothing to do with WOW or the webmail backend..  There was also the fact that I received the email on only one of my WOW email accts.<br><br>Just wanted to let y'all know :p<br><br>EDIT: if it helps anyone, here are the headers:<br><br> <blockquote><small>quote:</small><hr>From - Wed Mar 26 19:13:45 2008<br>X-Account-Key: account2<br>X-UIDL: il1!!e1d"!bD&!!_<br>Received: from smtp-7.wideopenwest.com (smtp-7.wideopenwest.com [10.75.2.8] (may be forged))<br>&#9;by pop-8.dnv.wideopenwest.com (8.12.8/8.12.8) with ESMTP id m2QN3ig0025464;<br>&#9;Wed, 26 Mar 2008 18:03:44 -0500<br>Received: from psmtp.com (exprod7mx229.postini.com [64.18.2.182])<br>&#9;by smtp-7.wideopenwest.com (8.12.11.20060308/8.12.11) with SMTP id m2QN3SX6010316;<br>&#9;Wed, 26 Mar 2008 18:03:28 -0500<br>Received: from source ([216.221.81.25]) by exprod7mx229.postini.com ([64.18.6.14]) with SMTP;<br>&#9;Wed, 26 Mar 2008 19:03:27 EDT<br>Received: from cogeco.ca (smtp2.cogeco.ca [216.221.81.29])<br>&#9;by fep9.cogeco.net (Postfix) with SMTP id 489D9BAC;<br>&#9;Wed, 26 Mar 2008 17:20:45 -0400 (EDT)<br>To: (Recipient List Suppressed)<br>Sender: jsward6@cogeco.ca<br>From: supportteam@j-mail.info<br>Reply-to: supportteam@j-mail.info<br>Subject: CONFIRM YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS<br>X-Mailer: Cogeco Webmail - complaints to abuse@cogeco.ca ( 80.255.59.244 - jsward6@cogeco.ca )<br>X-Originating-IP: 80.255.59.244<br>Date: Wed, 26 Mar 2008 16:20:43 -0500<br>X-Priority: 3 (Normal)<br>Message-id: <br>X-pstn-neptune: 3/1/0.33/63<br>X-pstn-levels:     (S: 0.37124/99.69140 CV:99.9000 R:95.9108 P:95.9108 C:98.6951 )<br>X-UIDL: il1!!e1d"!bD&!!_</blockquote>]]></description>
<guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,20230654</guid>
<pubDate>Wed, 26 Mar 2008 19:20:33 EDT</pubDate>
</item>

</channel>
</rss>
