share rss forum feed

burgermeister
All Computers Are Junk

join:2000-10-23
Utica, MI
reply to Bobcat79

Re: Utility easement

said by Bobcat79:

What part of "utility easement" don't these folks understand? They should have looked at the deed before they bought the property.
That doesn't give them the right to put any old piece of crap on the easement. There has to be some limit.
--
"I've learned that depression is merely anger without enthusiasm."

Bobcat79
Premium
join:2001-02-04

Ummm... No, sorry.

meinmd

@verizon.com

Ditto..It's a easement....And why its deemed a easement. They can do what they want with it.

I understood that when I built my house...Just as I had to sign over 15 foot of my property for future road widening. Just the way it is.

burgermeister
All Computers Are Junk

join:2000-10-23
Utica, MI
reply to Bobcat79

So, I could start a 'utility' and install anything in people's yard?? I'm no expert, but I don't think they can put anything on the easement they want. I could be wrong, but it doesn't seem reasonable to give a utility this right.

I'd also argue that broadband and television service isn't a utility at all. For phone, electricity, water, and gas I can understand. Actually, pulling a wire isn't a huge deal to me, but the boxes are.

But that's a whole different discussion.
--
"I've learned that depression is merely anger without enthusiasm."

hottboiinnc
ME

join:2003-10-15
Cleveland, OH

well yes. by some people on here you can put anything in the right of way you want as long as you tell the state/county or who ever is running the right-of-way in your area. Ohio its the state. I wonder if i paid Ohio their application fee if they'd let me go around Toledo and start dropping boxes like ATT into neighborhoods?

Millenniumle

join:2007-11-11
Fredonia, NY
reply to burgermeister