All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
sf_loft
join:2008-06-06

sf_loft

[Speed Problem] ATT DSL Scam - Monitor your download speeds cons

I have been with ATT DSL for quite some time now, ~5+ years. Over those years, I have had many instances where my speed gets slow. I use to think that it was maintenance or network issues, but I believe that ATT lowers user bandwidth regularly to save cost. For example, I have been paying for the last 2 years, the elite package, which advertises 3-6mbps down. I live pretty close to the CO and when I run my test, I usually get around 5.1-5.4 Mbps. Within the last 2 years, I have reported at least 4 instances with tech support / maintenance regarding slow download speeds which is well below my advertised and what I usually get. Each time they say that my line tests just fine and offer to bring in a technician for $60/hr if nothing is faulty with my line. Each time I refuse and continue to complain and magically, 2-3 days later, my connection comes back to regular advertised speed. Same thing happened again a few days ago, but I have noticed the slowness for at least 2 months where all my streaming videos and downloads would buffer a lot. I then ran a test and noticed that I was only getting 1.2Mbps, but the upload remains the same. I contacted the online agent and tech support who tells me that I'm signed up for the correct elite package and that my line is completely fine. The proceeded to give me a trouble ticket # and it simply triggered some automated system to run a test and leave an automated message on my answering machine, stating that there is nothing wrong with my connection.