site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1130
Share Topic
Post a:
Post a:
AuthorAll Replies


fAcEtIOUs
Premium
join:2002-03-03
kudos:4

2 edits

My virus scanner found malware at FCC link you provided

agency's infamous rose colored glasses reports (pdf)
If you try to open the fcc.gov pdf file linked at this story, it shows up as malware. It may be a false positive and again it may not. So be cautious.

I also went directly to the fcc.gov web site and tried the download there as well and got the same malware alert.

The 706 report in both word & acrobat versions is showing the problem. The Broadband R&O report is ok:
6/12/08
FCC Expands, Improves Broadband Data Collection.
Broadband Data R&O: Word | Acrobat
706 Report: Word | Acrobat

Link to explanation of vulnerability:
»nvd.nist.gov/nvd.cfm?cvename=CVE-2007-3896

P.S. I emailed the webmaster at fcc.gov and hopefully he checks out the situation.
--
My BLOG .. .. Internet News .. .. My Web Page


Dogfather
Premium
join:2007-12-26
Laguna Hills, CA

Maybe it's a false positive. NOD32 didn't see anything.

Or perhaps, like me, your AV thinks everything the gov't does is Malware LOL



fAcEtIOUs
Premium
join:2002-03-03
kudos:4

2 edits

said by Dogfather:

Maybe it's a false positive. NOD32 didn't see anything.

Or perhaps, like me, your AV thinks everything the gov't does is Malware LOL
It could very well be a false positive, but I won't push my luck by opening it anyway. Avast works for me, but it has been accused of having false positives in the Web Monitor module when set on the "High" setting. But this is the 1st hit I have gotten in months, so I won't push my luck.
--
My BLOG .. .. Internet News .. .. My Web Page


Hehe

@ssa.gov

reply to fAcEtIOUs
You should send the details to the anti-virus people.



fAcEtIOUs
Premium
join:2002-03-03
kudos:4

said by Hehe :

You should send the details to the anti-virus people.
I forwarded the info to Avast. What they do with it is up to them. Maybe they will find it is a false positive and will modify their Virus database and push out a new update later on.
--
My BLOG .. .. Internet News .. .. My Web Page

Madtown
Premium
join:2008-04-26
Madera, CA

I have Avast too and I got the same thing too, wonder what's going on too.



Dogfather
Premium
join:2007-12-26
Laguna Hills, CA

reply to fAcEtIOUs
As an aside, when I got home I tried with with NAV 11 for Macintosh (which will flag malware for windows) and it passed muster.



AnonProxy
Premium
join:2001-05-12

reply to fAcEtIOUs
You need to get your stuff right...


Thursday, 31-May 01:52:10 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics