 olesz
join:2007-02-19 Toronto, ON | reply to woowah Re: rogers inserting advertisements into my browser - WTF?
Hey
If you want to get rid of those advertisements just go to the bottom of that page and click learn more and there you can disable the service |
|
  woowah
join:2002-03-26 m5v5f6 | thanks, but it's very very obnoxious to do this. One more instance like this and I'm outta rogers. |
|
  starlndn Premium join:2004-03-08
| reply to olesz said by olesz :Hey If you want to get rid of those advertisements just go to the bottom of that page and click learn more and there you can disable the service All that does is set a permanent cookie, which is not the ideal workaround, more like adding insult to injury.
If you delete the cookie, you'll start getting the "special" page again.
Also, that Rogers page attempts to set cookies by doubleclick.net (no thanks).
I called Rogers this morning about this. They told me to change my DNS servers to 204.60.0.2 & 204.60.0.3; they also said they have been getting a lot of calls about this. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | Interesting ... AT&T (SBC) DNS servers!
ns1.snet.net [204.60.0.2] |
|
 clewis4u91
join:2007-03-17 Orangeville, ON | Good thing I'm using OpenDNS  |
|
  Quake110
join:2003-12-20 Ottawa, ON
·Velcom
| said by clewis4u91 :Good thing I'm using OpenDNS It's the same thing with OpenDNS. Bad domains are redirected to their search pages. |
|
  quickbeam Premium join:2003-06-01 Ottawa
·Rogers Hi-Speed
·Bell Sympatico
| reply to sbrook said by sbrook :Interesting ... AT&T (SBC) DNS servers! ns1.snet.net [204.60.0.2] LOL I'm sure the appreciate the extra traffic. |
|
  TKJunkMail Enjoy the sun Premium join:2002-03-03 Avalon, NJ
·Sprint Mobile Broa..
·Comcast
| reply to Quake110 said by Quake110 :said by clewis4u91 :Good thing I'm using OpenDNS It's the same thing with OpenDNS. Bad domains are redirected to their search pages. YES. Unless you sign up for a FREE account and then set up the option to Turn off typo correction. You go in to the Dashboard at www.opendns.com and select settings and the typo corrections and then uncheck the box enable typo correction. -- My BLOG .. .. Internet News .. .. My Web Page Ask yourself one question: 'Do I feel lucky?' Well, do ya punk? |
|
  i286
join:2008-01-16 Toronto, ON
·Rogers Hi-Speed
| reply to olesz quote: just go to the bottom of that page and click learn more and there you can disable the service
You are not disabling the service, basically they give you a fake page and one might think that browser did really render it, but it is still theirs.
Look, the favicon is there and some pictures are missing: refresh.gif (82 bytes) . Plus this is IE style error screen and I am using FF.
The idea is the same as with phishing web sites, where a user thinks that this is a legit page, when it is not. Here it is less serious but they still lie to people and keep sending your search phrase to Washington.
Now I am blocking search.rogers.com with my firewall.
Ted truly knows how to make money. And they call me and send garbage to sign up for more services (currently I am internet-only) but I have lost all my respect for this company. Mentally I am ready to go back to dial-up - I am not using internet as much anyway with those 2GB caps. 
|
|
 elwoodblues Elwood Blues
join:2006-08-30 Toronto, ON | Because they are using IIS as their webserver |
|
 rudeboy24
join:2002-10-14 Welland, ON | i used ID Serve from GRC.com and it shows as apache i think they just put IE looking error pages.
»www.grc.com/id/idserve.htm |
|