Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » False Positives in AdAware 2008?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
742
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
IS system 32 nt agent a virus or is avira paranoid »
« (topic move) test  
AuthorAll Replies


sportsfan54
Premium
join:2001-04-27
Laurel, MS
·AT&T Southeast

False Positives in AdAware 2008?

Click for full size
When I updated AdAware2008 this morning there was some sort of program update. When I scanned my computer, it came up with all of these redirects that have never shown up before. When I tried to remove them, it acted like it was removing them but they are still there. Are these possibly false positives or what? Anybody else seeing this?


Kayrac
Premium
join:2001-09-29
Rochester, NH


1 edit
»www.timeatlas.com/mos/Term_to_Le···ts_file/

look at the bottom for the host file location

open it in notepad, see if those locations are present in the hosts file

-Brian

actually do you use any sort of hosts file? it looks like porn/crack sites that have been redirected to 127.0.0.1 so if you visit them it goes nowhere


sportsfan54
Premium
join:2001-04-27
Laurel, MS
reply to sportsfan54
Yes I use a Hosts file. I found one of them so far. Do I delete the ones I find?

redwolfe_98

join:2001-06-11
·RoadRunner Cable


1 edit
reply to sportsfan54
no, you don't need to remove the entries from your HOSTS file if they are supposed to be there.. you should report this issue in the ad-aware forum and then they will address the issue with ad-aware's flagging the entries in your HOSTS file..

in the ad-aware forum, i would post the scan-log.. it seems they always ask for that..


sportsfan54
Premium
join:2001-04-27
Laurel, MS
I understand. Most of the redirects are not showing up in my Hosts file. Does this mean that I should ignore them?

LS Pekka

join:2007-05-29
SWEDEN

reply to sportsfan54
Hi!

We will take a closer look at these entries that clearly look to be inserted in the Hosts file in order to block access to the listed domains as the malicious hostnames are redirected to 127.0.0.1 (local address or localhost). We will correct this as of the next definition file update. The blocking may have been done by some other application that you may have installed and and it may also have locked(write protected) the Hosts file in order to protect it from changes (this can also be done by the Ad-Aware Hosts File Editor, by ticking "Write-Protect Hosts File"). The Ad-Aware 2008 Hosts File Editor can be reached via the Tools & Plug-Ins button.

Spybot Search & Destroy is an example of an application that let their users "Add Spybot S&D hosts lists" in order to block access to certain malicious sites. If the Hosts file is locked down by the application the entries cannot be removed for as long as the the lock(write-protection) is applied.

Thank´s for informing us about the issue!

As mentioned previously it will be corrected as of the next definition file update.

Regards,

LS Pekka

Lavasoft Research

redwolfe_98

join:2001-06-11
·RoadRunner Cable

reply to sportsfan54
sportsfan, it looks like ad-aware is flagging entries in your HOSTS file that are supposed to be there, in which case, yes, you could say that the detections are "false-postives", and so you should ignore them, except that you could report it to ad-aware, in their forum, so that they will know to fix the problem..

malware can add entries to your HOSTS file, for various purposes, like to send you to malicious websites, or to block you from accessing good websites, which is what ad-aware scans your HOSTS file for, to find entries that shouldn't be there.. however, in this case, as far as i can tell, it looks like ad-aware is flagging some entries that shouldn't be being flagged..


sportsfan54
Premium
join:2001-04-27
Laurel, MS
I posted in the AdAware forums about this. There are some other people reporting this too. Thanks everybody for your help.

LS Pekka

join:2007-05-29
SWEDEN
reply to sportsfan54
Hi!

This issue is fixed in the current definition file, 0123.0000.

Thank´s for reporting this issue!

Regards,

LS Pekka

Lavasoft Research


pampam

@Level3.net

reply to sportsfan54
Glad I found this thread, as I had the same exact problem today when I downloaded the def files. I just tried another download and it's taking, so I guess you all were quick to fix this issue. Thanks! (I'm hoping this latest download will solve the issue).
-
Forums » Up and Running » Security » SecurityIS system 32 nt agent a virus or is avira paranoid »
« (topic move) test  


Thursday, 10-Dec 02:55:06 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [200] Sprint Sued For Distracted Driving Death
· [116] AT&T Launching New 24 Mbps U-Verse Tier
· [82] 3G Network Test Says AT&T Is Tops
· [72] Mediacom Unveils 105 Mbps Pricing
· [66] Sprint Poised For A Turnaround?
· [66] WPA Cracker: Test WPA-PSK Networks In 20 Minutes
· [66] AT&T Hints At Usage-Based iPhone Data Pricing
· [51] The Future Of Wi-Fi Is Bright
· [47] Site Leaks Yahoo, Verizon Fed Data Share Pricing
· [45] Microwaving Your Innards Is Not 'Extreme'
Most people now reading
· Cross Server Dungeon Experience [World of Warcraft]
· The aftermath [World of Warcraft]
· ICC strats [World of Warcraft]
· Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.42.34 [Security]
· [ Classes] Druid tanking: rotation and glyphs [World of Warcraft]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· 3.x Feral Druid - Bear Tanking Guide [World of Warcraft]
· It's happening again [AT&T Southwest]
· Official "Invite" thread Part 3 - ALL INVITES GO HERE ! [Filesharing Software]
· [How to] Install Asterisk on an Asus WL-520GU router [VOIP Tech Chat]