republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1882
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Status Page ·FAQ ·SBC Techs ·Anti-virus and spyware
AuthorAll Replies

John Taylor

join:2001-12-20
Hartland, WI

Recommended SMTP Server?

I am working with a customer who needs to reconfigure their in-house Exchange server to use a "smart host" -- an SMTP server that will relay email to the ultimate destination.

The DSL info that I have lists smtp.sbcglobal.yahooo.com as the outgoing (SMTP) mail server, but that's from several years ago.

Does anyone know the current recommended SMTP server for AT&T DSL subscribers in Wisconsin?

Thanks!


MacThrasher
Premium
join:2002-04-26
Chagrin Falls, OH

The current recommended server is smtp.att.yahoo.com but smtp.mail.yahoo.com is what I use. SSL with and port 465 as the port to use. My domain I use smtp.bizmail.yahoo.com, but my domain is also hosted by yahoo.


NormanS
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:4
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC

reply to John Taylor
Forget about using 'smtp.att.yahoo.com:465' as a 'Smarthost', if your customer is using more than about 12 email addresses, tops. Your customer will log in to the server using the account email address, say, <%User_ID-1%@sbcglobal.net>. Then he can add one merged 'yahoo.com' email address, if this is the Primary account, and it was already set up with a merged address. He can add one additional 'yahoo.com' "Extra" email address, and he can verify a maximum of ten email addresses outside of the 'sbcglobal.net', or 'yahoo.com' domains. That's it. Even sending from a sub account, using the Primary account log in, requires "verifying" the sub account email address with the Primary account. Yahoo! does not want to run a 'Smarthost' for an ISP.

I'd suggest using 'smtpauth.sbcglobal.net'. Either port 25, or port 587 will work; no SSL required.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum


John Taylor

join:2001-12-20
Hartland, WI

reply to John Taylor
Thanks guys! I'll try 'smtpauth.sbcglobal.net' since I don't believe Exchange will do SSL. I appreciate the help!


psx_defector

join:2001-06-09
Allen, TX
kudos:1

No go on SMTPAuth.

They flipped it over to Yahoo as well. After using it for a smarthost, they flagged my accounts for spam and reset the password.

So, in other words, there is no SMTP server we can use as a smarthost on ATTIS.

You can still opt-out of port 25 blocking and switch to some third party server.


NormanS
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:4
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC

said by psx_defector:

No go on SMTPAuth.

They flipped it over to Yahoo as well...
???
09/25/08 11:34:43 dns smtpauth.sbcglobal.net
Canonical name: smtpauth.sbcglobal.net
Addresses:
  207.115.36.27
 
And...
09/25/08 11:34:46 Dns 207.115.36.27
nslookup 207.115.36.27
Canonical name: nb-smtpauth-vip2.prodigy.net
Addresses:
  207.115.36.27
 

Doesn't look "Yahoo!" from where I sit. I just sent myself a test email. Logged in as <%User_ID-001%@pacbell.net>, but sent "From:" <%User_ID-007%@pacbell.net>. A Yahoo! server would have failed that, with a '553 Sender address not verified' error.

The message was received at the Hotmail account I sent it to: Passed through ATTIS message submission, and relay servers ('prodigy.net' domain, not 'yahoo.com' domain).
After using it for a smarthost, they flagged my accounts for spam and reset the password.
That is really strange. I've been using another alias, 'mail.pacbell.net', as a 'smarthost' for several months, and have had no issues with it.
You can still opt-out of port 25 blocking and switch to some third party server.
Ultimately, for a business, that it probably the wisest option.

--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum

John Taylor

join:2001-12-20
Hartland, WI

reply to John Taylor
This morning we switched the customer over to smtpauth.sbcglobal.net and it looks like it fixed his problem. Now we'll have to wait to see if he gets blocked because of using that server as a smart host. He's an AT&T customer using an AT&T DSL line, so it seems he ought to be entitled to send email via an AT&T server. What a concept!


psx_defector

join:2001-06-09
Allen, TX
kudos:1

1 edit

reply to NormanS
Never mind, I've gone insane.

The header was right, I was just completely pissed that my account got locked, and have been blinded by rage.

So either my users were indeed sending spam, which wouldn't be so far out of the relm of possibility, or they assume someone sending 10000000 messages an hour was spammy.

My users, got to love them. They whined when I took away their ability to send 100MB emails.


psx_defector

join:2001-06-09
Allen, TX
kudos:1

reply to John Taylor
Pull a header from a received message, let's see what comes up.


NormanS
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:4

reply to John Taylor
There may be a bulk limit, even on 'smtpauth.sbcglobal.net'. I don't know what it is; but, as a residential user, I doubt if I even come close.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum


Wednesday, 30-May 17:56:18 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics