spc
Search similar:

uniqs

benenglish
@irs.gov

benenglish

Anon

VPN Networking, again

I don't have UVerse but I'm a tech who supports people who use VPNs (Cisco software, OS is XP) to connect to work. Our users are completely locked down with no ability to make *any* administrative changes. Normally, they plug their computers into whatever connection is provided by their ISP, the computer picks up an address via DHCP, and they can tunnel and authenticate to our network. It's very slick, fast, and our users love it.

However, UVerse has started coming in and we're seeing problems. I did a house call to a user recently and her computer was unable to acquire an IP. Since her home computer running Vista was connecting to the internet just fine, I ran an ipconfig /all on it and found that it was not running dhcp, the gateway was shown as not running dhcp, and it had an IPv6 address. Our machines are strictly IPv4.

She's in a brand new home in a brand new subdivision with all the latest and greatest including fiber all the way to her house (she says; I wouldn't recognize such a thing if it were right in front of me). She gets everything (phone, TV, and internet) via ATT UVerse.

Basically, her work laptop may NOT have any configuration changes made to it and it merely needs to see DHCP at the jack to get a connection. However, that's not happening here.