Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security » NIS 2009 Found This... What is it?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
540
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
(topic move) Skype through wireless router »
« Can't connect to airfrance.com but everybody else can  
AuthorAll Replies


owlyn
Premium,MVM
join:2004-06-05
Newtown, PA
clubs:

NIS 2009 Found This... What is it?

Click for full size
What is this attack? Looks like an FP to me, but I'm not really sure...


amysheehan
Lakers Win
Premium,VIP,MVM
join:1999-12-21
Huntington Beach, CA
·RoadRunner Cable

Here is some info about that IP
»www.dshield.org/ipinfo.html?ip=58.65.234.9
Hostname: 58-65-234-9.myrdns.com

ISP in HongKong

I wouldn't call it a false positive unless you were unable to view a web page correctly that may have contained something from this IP.

NIS blocked it so if you didn't notice a web page loading properly hosted in HongKong I wouldn't worry NIS did its job
--
Proud Member of ASAP
DSLR Phishtracker


amysheehan
Lakers Win
Premium,VIP,MVM
join:1999-12-21
Huntington Beach, CA
·RoadRunner Cable

reply to owlyn
NIS states that wsxhost.net was the webpage you were visiting

WHO IS INFO
Result for wsxhost.net
--> /usr/local/bin/fwhois wsxhost.net@whois.internic.net
[whois.internic.net]

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered

Domain Name: WSXHOST.NET
Registrar: REGTIME LTD.
Whois Server: whois.regtime.net
Referral URL: »www.webnames.ru
Name Server: NS1.NAMESELF.COM
Name Server: NS2.NAMESELF.COM
Status: ok
Updated Date: 19-sep-2008
Creation Date: 19-sep-2008
Expiration Date: 19-sep-2009

The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .EDU domains and
--> /usr/local/bin/fwhois wsxhost.net@whois.regtime.net
[www.regtime.net]
% RegTime.net WHOIS server

Domain name: wsxhost.net

Name servers:
ns1.nameself.com
ns2.nameself.com

Registrar: RegTime.net Limited
Creation date: 2008-09-19
Expiration date: 2009-09-19

Registrant:
Rey
Email: palfreycrossvw@gmail.com
Organization: Cross Co
Address: 228 WIECKING CTR
City: MANKATO
State: MN
ZIP: 56001
Country: US
Phone: +1.5073891822
Fax: +1.5073891822
Administrative Contact:
Rey
Email: palfreycrossvw@gmail.com
Organization: Cross Co
Address: 228 WIECKING CTR
City: MANKATO
State: MN
ZIP: 56001
Country: US
Phone: +1.5073891822
Fax: +1.5073891822
Technical Contact:
Rey
Email: palfreycrossvw@gmail.com
Organization: Cross Co
Address: 228 WIECKING CTR
City: MANKATO
State: MN
ZIP: 56001
Country: US
Phone: +1.5073891822
Fax: +1.5073891822
Billing Contact:
Rey
Email: palfreycrossvw@gmail.com
Organization: Cross Co
Address: 228 WIECKING CTR
City: MANKATO
State: MN
ZIP: 56001
Country: US
Phone: +1.5073891822
Fax: +1.5073891822

Domain name registered recently using IP name servers in HongKong for registrants in Minnesota thru a Russian registrar service -- IMO I would thank NIS. Doesn't sound kosher
--
Proud Member of ASAP
DSLR Phishtracker


Doctor Four
My other vehicle is a TARDIS
Premium
join:2000-09-05
Dallas, TX
·AT&T U-Verse
·RoadRunner Cable
·AT&T Yahoo

reply to owlyn
SnapShot Viewer ActiveX? That sure sounds like a social engineering ploy to get a trojan installed (such as Zlob).

I wouldn't call it a FP.
--
"The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot)


owlyn
Premium,MVM
join:2004-06-05
Newtown, PA
clubs:
reply to amysheehan
Thanks. I checked the whois on it before posting, but I still wasn't sure. I sure hope my Trend Micro software was protecting me prior to the NIS install...


therube

join:2004-11-11
Randallstown, MD
reply to owlyn
Looks like this, Niranhadas.com.


owlyn
Premium,MVM
join:2004-06-05
Newtown, PA
clubs:

said by therube See Profile :

Looks like this, Niranhadas.com.
Okay, I visited the link, but I don't know what the information ther means. It was obviously a code snippet, but iu don't know what it does. Looks like it wants to cause a buffer overflow, and then install a (malware?)helper to Adobe reader? Just a guess...
-
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Security(topic move) Skype through wireless router »
« Can't connect to airfrance.com but everybody else can  


Sunday, 05-Jul 15:53:19 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 9.5 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [146] Biden Unveils Broadband Stimulus
· [95] AT&T: 65,000 SMS Sent Per SECOND
· [95] Fourth Of July Open Thread
· [92] Compuserve Classic Says Goodnight
· [85] Obama Using NSA, AT&T For New Snooping Project
· [83] Thomas To Appeal Huge RIAA Fines
· [71] iPhone 3GS Already Jailbroken
· [67] Verizon: Cut Your Landline To Save Money
· [61] Cable Carriers Miss Tru2Way Deadline
· [60] The Pirate Bay Gets Sold
Most people now reading
· TekSavvy Down (EDIT: Now back online) [TekSavvy]
· 55 bugs in new Firefox 3.5: users are posting complaints [Security]
· 6 firetrucks at 151 [TekSavvy]
· [ Professions] Northrend Herbalism and Mining Tracks [World of Warcraft]
· Its the Traffic Management Super Bowl! [TekSavvy]
· Symantec executive: dangerous to run free antivirus [Security]
· wasp problemb [Home Repair & Improvement]
· NSA plans massive, 65MW, $2bn data center in Utah [Security]
· Telus-Bell Merge Rumor - Say Whaaaaaaat!?!? [TekSavvy]
· Google Voice Now Allows You To Change Your Number [VOIP Tech Chat]