uniqs
Kirkx
join:2006-09-20
Toronto, ON

Kirkx

BEFSX41: how to open up firewall for outbound traffic

Linksys: BEFSX41
Firmware: 1.45.7

I've been using befsx41 for two years without problems, but lately stumbled upon a piece of software that just won't connect to its server as long as Linksys stays in the way (the software is AxisPro stock trading platform from nexatech.com).

It always stalls 37% through the connection process:

»img525.imageshack.us/img ··· 7hv5.png

which ends with the message "no response from server"

»img266.imageshack.us/img ··· 5kf9.png

Disconnecting befsx41 and setting up DSL connection straight through the modem resolves the problem.

All this looks quite weird because I can easily ping the server in question when Linksys is connected.

»img443.imageshack.us/img ··· 7qe6.png

Is there any setting in Linksys that should be modified. I admit I don't know much about port forwarding and all that staff. The firewall settings are as follows:

»img338.imageshack.us/img ··· 3dm0.png

Thanks

d_l
Barsoom
MVM
join:2002-12-08
Reno, NV

d_l

MVM

Are there any directions about opening ports with the help files for the program? I looked on their web site FAQs and in their support pages without much success to answer that question.

The loading stall seems like it might be an MTU problem, but you already have yours set to Manual 1492 (I gather that you are on DSL).
Kirkx
Toronto, ON

3 edits

Kirkx

The more I look at this the more it looks like I will finally have to learn more about port forwarding. I have a PDF with some info about opening ports, unfortunately no ports are provided for the "demo" address:

demo.nexadirect.com (70.251.254.25)

but I can get that from tech support (the question is how long it will take). Here is the screenshot from PDF:

»img262.imageshack.us/img ··· 5yf8.png

Bill_MI
Bill In Michigan
MVM
join:2001-01-03
Royal Oak, MI
TP-Link Archer C7
Linksys WRT54GS
Linksys WRT54G v4

Bill_MI

MVM