uniqs

HA Nut
Premium Member
join:2004-05-13
USA

HA Nut

Premium Member

Always leave the Windows Firewall on?

The December 2008 PC World magazine has an article in it (on page 134) that encourages users to always leave the Windows Firewall on, even if you are running another software firewall (their example is ZoneAlarm.)

I know that 2 AVs are not recommended. And I know that somewhere I've seen that 2 software firewalls are also not recommended. But after this, it's made me wonder... is it ok to leave the Windows Firewall on all the time? (FWIW, my Windows Firewall was on for a while with Comodo and I didn't notice any issues.)

Drunkula
Premium Member
join:2000-06-12
Denton, TX

Drunkula

Premium Member

I, too, would be interested to know. I'm no expert but its my opinion that 1 is better than 2 in this case.

Cudni
La Merma - Vigilado
MVM
join:2003-12-20
Someshire

Cudni to HA Nut

MVM

to HA Nut
Windows Firewall does not conflict, if it does it is very rare, with firewalls like ZA, Norton, Eset etc. etc.

One idea behind such suggestion might be that in case main firewall fails for whatever reason you are still protected. Not all firewall allow the WF to run concurrently (Norton and possibly others) even if you specifically enable both WF gets disabled.

Cudni

ManOfSnow
@verizon.net

ManOfSnow to HA Nut

Anon

to HA Nut

Running Two firewalls at once is ridiculous and dangerous. RIDICULOUS !

Anyone who knows anything about the workings of a computer knows that by running two firewalls they will fight each other for Stack Placemenmt therby weakening both the firewalls as they are battling for Stack Placement.....allowing a Hacker to slip right into the system.