  antdude A Ninja Ant Premium,VIP join:2001-03-25 | reply to Name Game Re: SpywareInfo.com, bad news......
I just saw this in my SpyBot scan today. That's awful.  |
|
 Mele20 Premium join:2001-06-05 Hilo, HI | reply to Smokey Bear That's right. I almost copy/pasted. I think coldmoon should remove it entirely. |
|
  Smokey Bear veritas odium parit Premium join:2008-03-15 Annie's Pub
| reply to coldmoon said by coldmoon :True, but it is not an active link Indeed it isn't, it is a copy/paste link. I see not much difference with an active link because your link bring people also straight to a site with dubious links..... -- Smokey's Security Forums »www.smokey-services.eu/forum/ Smokey's Security Weblog »smokeys.wordpress.com/ ** Merry Christmas and Safe 2009 Surfing Habits to All ** |
|
  coldmoon Premium join:2002-02-04 Broadway, NC | reply to Smokey Bear True, but it is not an active link  |
|
  Smokey Bear veritas odium parit Premium join:2008-03-15 Annie's Pub
1 edit | reply to coldmoon said by coldmoon :Be careful of the links. I noticed the Spywareinfo graphic button on the right side of the page still leads to the .com address and there may be other issues as the last post indicates not being able to update that site in September 2008. The link to the mirror at CCSP is stopped at Feb 2008... Ar. Link removed. But still available in your reply...  -- Smokey's Security Forums »www.smokey-services.eu/forum/ Smokey's Security Weblog »smokeys.wordpress.com/ ** Merry Christmas and Safe 2009 Surfing Habits to All ** |
|
  coldmoon Premium join:2002-02-04 Broadway, NC
·Windstream
1 edit | reply to Smokey Bear Hi Smokey, quote: Merijn.org will always be reachable at »xx.xx.xxx.xx/~merijn/
Be careful of the links. I noticed the Spywareinfo graphic button on the right side of the page still leads to the .com address and there may be other issues as the last post indicates not being able to update that site in September 2008. The link to the mirror at CCSP is stopped at Feb 2008...
Mike
Edit: removed part of the URL per request |
|
  norwegian Premium join:2005-02-15 Outback
·WestNet Broadband
| reply to Smokey Bear
All these great sites?
I wan't to be a cleaner but found myself needing more training which was/is still frustrating me, but see all these sites being treated this way, and the end of the rein of Paul at CastleCops, what is happening to all the work that some great people started......what a mess.
Let's hope the next 5 to 10 years has as much to offer us. -- The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke |
|
  Smokey Bear veritas odium parit Premium join:2008-03-15 Annie's Pub
2 edits | reply to Name Game Another old site goes under the auction block, this time it concern merijn.org
The domain is on Mike's server and GoDaddy seems to be slaughtering everything connected to Mike, now that they realize he cannot be contacted.
News sources:
Spywarewarrior.com »spywarewarrior.com/viewtopic.php···9#191769 Spywareinfoforum.com »www.spywareinfoforum.com/index.p···l=merijn
Edit: removed a link for security reasons -- Smokey's Security Forums »www.smokey-services.eu/forum/ Smokey's Security Weblog »smokeys.wordpress.com/ ** Merry Christmas and Safe 2009 Surfing Habits to All ** |
|
  MarkAW Barry White or lil bratt Premium join:2001-08-27 Canada | reply to Libra Only here to help when i can Libra.  |
|
 Libra Premium join:2003-08-06 USA
| reply to MarkAW Hi MarkAW,
Thanks so much for the screenshots. I blocked searchportal.information.com and then chose to block all categories that include it and was presented with a confirmation for adware and parked domain. I checked both.
I appreciate your help very much.
Sincerely, Libra |
|
  MarkAW Barry White or lil bratt Premium join:2001-08-27 Canada
·Bell Sympatico
·Cogeco Cable
2 edits | reply to Libra See screen shot. |
|
 Libra Premium join:2003-08-06 USA | reply to Libra ^bump^
Does anyone know what filter I have to set to have these sites blocked automatically in opendns.com?
Sincerely, Libra |
|
 Libra Premium join:2003-08-06 USA
| reply to bcruze said by bcruze : Site blocked. searchportal.information.com is not allowed on this network. This site was categorized as: Adware, Parked Domains Questions? Not properly categorized? from using OPENDNS servers I have Opendns and opened an account with them. Could you please explain to me how to have it block this and other undesireable sites? Thank you.
Sincerely, Libra |
|
  bcastner Premium,VIP,MVM join:2002-09-25 Chevy Chase, MD clubs: 
·Verizon Online DSL
2 edits | reply to Name Game @Name Game,
Thanks for the heads up on this.
It is very sad to see. And in the future for cases like this, it would be wonderful if OpenDNS or other DNS servers would offer a "safe" alternative, with some mention that the original site contents were available under a different URL.
I am not denigrating their efforts to block the original URL of the site. I think that is great too.
SWI had and has attracted some awfully bright folks in the malware removal field, and it is heartening to see them in a new home.
Best regards, and thank you again, Bill
-- ============ MS-MVP 2004 - -2008, ASAP Member Users Helping Users
|
|
  Name Game Premium join:2002-07-07 North Myrtle Beach, SC
| reply to VikingBob And wilder's org no longer has that list or downloads either..
»www.wilders.org/
That whole page needs rework at SWI..always something to fix.  |
|
  VikingBob
join:2004-06-05 Ste Anne, MB
·MTS
| reply to Name Game The download link for HijackThis needs fixing on this page: »www.spywareinfoforum.info/downloads.php
www.merjin.org gets you a "NOTICE: This domain name expired on 11/23/2008 and is pending renewal or deletion." |
|
  Name Game Premium join:2002-07-07 North Myrtle Beach, SC
| reply to cnm Yes..good point..that is exactly what I did at our portal page for your site the other day..link to the forum for SWI
»gladiator-antivirus.com/forum/in···act=home |
|
 winchester73
join:2003-08-08 Chapel Hill, NC | reply to cnm Thanks cnm for all that you are doing ...  |
|
 cnm
join:2002-10-17 Sunnyvale, CA
1 edit | reply to Name Game Thanks, Name Game.
By the way, if you have any links to spywareinfo.com on your sites:
In general all links can be fixed by just replacing spywareinfo.com with spywareinfoforum.info
So that a link to "www.spywareinfo.com/whatever" becomes a link to "www.spywareinfoforum.info/whatever".
However the forum has a different domain, »www.spywareinfoforum.com. For links to the forum, which are probably more numerous, links should be fixed by replacing forums.spywareinfo with www.spywareinfoforum
So that a link to "forums.spywareinfo.com/..." becomes a link to "www.spywareinfoforum.com/...". |
|
  Name Game Premium join:2002-07-07 North Myrtle Beach, SC
| reply to cnm said by cnm :The site is now at » www.spywareinfoforum.infoWe will be keeping it intact, as much as possible. A snapshot of September 2006. There is a link to it at the top of the forum » www.spywareinfoforum.comI have fixed most of the broken internal links that were zapped when I changed the URL - but please let me know if you encounter any. Good work..best to you and the crew over there cnm. -- Gladiator Security Forum »www.gladiator-antivirus.com/ * A fun/friendly/informative forum for the mature elder crowd »www.theover50goldengroup.net
|
|