  JohnInSJ Premium join:2003-09-22 San Jose, CA
·Comcast
| Heads up - phishing email scam received...
I'm 99.44% sure this is NOT real...
Full email source posted
Return-Path: X-Original-To: XXXXXXX-not my sonic.net email Delivered-To: XXXXXXX-not my sonic.net email Received: from localhost XXXXXXXX identifing info cut X-Virus-Scanned: Debian amavisd-new at schettino.us Received: from XXXXXXXX identifing info cut Received-SPF: none (upgrading.com: No applicable sender policy available) receiver=XXXXXX; identity=mfrom; envelope-from="info@upgrading.com"; helo=eth0.b.lds.sonic.net; client-ip=209.204.159.5 Received: from eth0.b.lds.sonic.net (eth0.b.lds.sonic.net [209.204.159.5]) (using TLSv1 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by XXXXX (Postfix) with ESMTPS id D5DAF3966055 for ; Mon, 8 Dec 2008 00:59:29 -0800 (PST) Received: from h.mx.sonic.net (h.mx.sonic.net [64.142.100.47]) by eth0.b.lds.sonic.net (8.13.8.Beta0-Sonic/8.13.7) with ESMTP id mB88x0sK027190; Mon, 8 Dec 2008 00:59:00 -0800 Received: from unifap.br (atlantico.unifap.br [200.129.167.71]) by h.mx.sonic.net (8.13.8.Beta0-Sonic/8.13.7) with ESMTP id mB88wtYe010487; Mon, 8 Dec 2008 00:58:59 -0800 Received: from unifap.br (atlantico.unifap.br [127.0.0.1]) by unifap.br (Postfix) with ESMTP id 49EC82192BA; Mon, 8 Dec 2008 05:58:29 -0200 (BRST) From: "UPGRADING SERVICES" Reply-To: servicesupgrade@live.com Subject: Confirm Your Sonic.net Account Details Date: Mon, 8 Dec 2008 04:58:29 -0300 Message-Id: X-Mailer: Open WebMail 2.50 20050117 X-OriginatingIP: 81.199.176.210 (audint) MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset=iso-8859-1 To: undisclosed-recipients:; X-Sonic-Received-From-Country: br, (Not Found) X-Sonic-SB-IP-RBLs: IP RBLs .
UPGRADE YOUR SONIC.NET® InternetSM ACCOUNT NOW !!! Dear Account User,
This message is from sonic.net® Internet SM message center to all sonic.net® account owners. We are currently upgrading our data base and e-mail account center. We are deleting all unused sonic.net® account to create more space for new accounts. You are advice to verify and confirm your account details below to enable us upgrade our sonic.net® Internet Service e.g. sonic.net E-mail, Password,and Address etc. Anyone whofails to do his or her own will automatically lost his/her own Account.
Thanks for using sonic.net® Internet SM To prevent your Account from closing you will have to update it below before three days from now!
Confirm Your Account Details
Username: Password: Zip Code:
You will be sent a confirmation letter from sonic.net customer service after our upgrading. Thanks for your understanding. Customer Service Warning!!! Account owner that refuses to update his or sonic.net account before five days of receiving this warning will lose his or her account permanently.
THANKS ACCOUNT MANAGEMENT
-- My place : »www.schettino.us |
|
 xan_user
join:2004-11-18 Windsor, CA
| said by PhishingScamEmail :
Anyone whofails to do his or her own will automatically lost his/her own Account.
To prevent your Account from closing you will have to update it below before three days from now! It a good thing the scammers cant learn grammar/spelling. There nearly as bad as me... 
How come I never get these? I feel so left out. Im still waiting for my email from a Nigerian prince, but it hasn't come yet either.  |
|
  Almighty1 Premium join:2003-05-14 San Francisco, CA clubs:   
·SONIC.NET
| reply to JohnInSJ I get this all the time on my own Unix box except what's funny is I'm both the superuser and the only user on the box and I don't have webmail on my system. I haven't seen the Nigerian scam either although that one seems to get people in for as long as I know. -- Cheers, Vince DNA Logic Corporation »www.DNALOGIC.NET |
|
  bobrk You kids get offa my lawn Premium join:2000-02-02 San Jose, CA
·SONIC.NET
| reply to JohnInSJ Received: from unifap.br (atlantico.unifap.br [127.0.0.1]) by unifap.br (Postfix) with ESMTP id 49EC82192BA; Mon, 8 Dec 2008 05:58:29 -0200 (BRST)
Of course it's a phish. It's coming from Brazil. -- change | bobrk |
|
 xan_user
join:2004-11-18 Windsor, CA | I think Sonic moves its HQ to Brazil each winter.  |
|
  bobrk You kids get offa my lawn Premium join:2000-02-02 San Jose, CA | I want that job!  |
|
  burrowowl Sonic.Net VIP join:2003-01-22 Santa Rosa, CA
| reply to JohnInSJ said by JohnInSJ :Reply-To: servicesupgrade@live.com Subject: Confirm Your Sonic.net Account Details Date: Mon, 8 Dec 2008 04:58:29 -0300 Yeah, you can't actually reply to this message through mail.sonic.net any more. We've been seeing a lot more of these over the past few months.
-- John Fitzgerald Sonic.net Technical Support |
|
  JohnInSJ Premium join:2003-09-22 San Jose, CA
·Comcast
| said by burrowowl :Yeah, you can't actually reply to this message through mail.sonic.net any more. Nice!
It's clearly bogus, but people seem to fall for this stuff anyway. |
|
  burrowowl Sonic.Net VIP join:2003-01-22 Santa Rosa, CA | Happily, very few Sonic.net customers actually fall for these things. At least not between when it's originally sent and we squash it.
-- John Fitzgerald Sonic.net Technical Support |
|