republican-creole
site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·ALL ·VoIP FAQ ·VoIP Reviews ·MJ Forum FAQ ·VoIP Overview
AuthorAll Replies


HolmanGT
Premium
join:2001-11-20
Saint George, UT

reply to dvd536

Re: New To MagicJack.....

dvd536, Amigo,

Well it may have to do with trying to force membership numbers up and participants verses browsers.

In fact I am sure of it. Last month the owner announced that because his member ship had climbed and he is making a little money off the advertisements that he was going to give a little back to the members via a free MagicJack a month based on member activity and contribution to the group.

He actually lied about that because last month he gave away FIVE MagicJack units.

dvd536, I don't remember any personal questions or things I wouldn't tell most any stranger on the street, well maybe a few things. Just the normal stuff Name and email address, that was about it to the best of my recollection.


dvd536
as Mr. Pink as they come
Premium
join:2001-04-27
Phoenix, AZ
kudos:4

said by HolmanGT:

dvd536, I don't remember any personal questions or things I wouldn't tell most any stranger on the street, well maybe a few things. Just the normal stuff Name and email address, that was about it to the best of my recollection.
I can see requiring registration to post, but to require it to view a page very lame.
i'm pretty sure the ads pay on impressions, not how many people had to jump through the sites hoops to view.
--
When I gez aju zavateh na nalechoo more new yonooz tonigh molinigh - Ken Lee

amigo_boy

join:2005-07-22
Reviews:
·magicjack.com

said by dvd536:

I can see requiring registration to post, but to require it to view a page very lame.
It's just for that one forum area. I agree it's dumb because I don't understand what practical purpose it serves.

I should have remembered that odd requirement before posting the link.

Mark


HolmanGT
Premium
join:2001-11-20
Saint George, UT

1 edit

reply to dvd536
dvd536, Amigo,

I won't attempt to justify it anymore than I have. It is definitely not my cup of tea either.

All I was really attempting to say is that I don't think there is anything sinister involved. I just think it is the owners way of attempting to build his membership base.

Actually I don't think it is that unusual and I believe I have run into that on other Technical insider forums. But of course I can't remember which ones at the moment. Pretty convenient ain't it. Difficult to debate an argument when no proof it offered.

Anyway - aside from that one peculiarity it is a very helpful site when you are dinking with MJ and Thin Clients.

"Uncle"


Friday, 01-Jun 09:12:30 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics