All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
Oldguy6
join:2005-09-22
62002-6836

Oldguy6

Integrate Wireless Network & LG Network blu-ray disc Player?

Hope someone can help a newbie here. I received a LG Network Blu-ray Disc Player this morning as a Christmas gift. This is the model that has instant streaming from Netflix.
My question(s) is how to integrate the Player with my broadband Wireless Home Network. The LG instructions are a little “thin” regarding the connection options;
Option A is to connect an Ethernet cable from the player directly to the home network’s router/DSL modem.
Option B is to use an Ethernet adapter such as a Poweline Ethernet Adapter. Other options include Wireless Ethernet Adapters and “Game system Ethernet Adapters”.
Currently I have a Broadband Homerun connection more than 50 feet away from the location of the TV and the new LG Blu-ray disc player. I would like to avoid having to extend the homerun . This would involve cutting into walls again to run more line and crawling under the house to accomplish a neat appearing setup.
My current home network consists of a Linksys Wireless-G, 2.4 Ghz, 54Mbps Broadband Router . I also have a Linksys Wireless G Print Server. On the network are two Desktop PCs and two Dell Notebooks. All are connected Wireless.
Now for the questions;
I did some research on the Powerline Adapters. What I don’t understand about them is this. Is the connection from the unit that you plug into the electrical outlet and the PC or Notebook wireless or is it a wired connection? If it is a wired connection, I don’t think I want to go that route because I like to be mobile with the Notebooks around the house. Plus, if I understand correctly, you need an Adapter for each PC and notebook and then for the LG Player, correct?