how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

rukrazy

join:2009-03-27

1 recommendation

Embarq DSL and Netgear DSL Modem

I have been using a Netgear DSL modem for 2 months. I am very happy with this modem. I would advise anyone having dropped connection problems to switch to this modem.
I was having dropped connection problems, sometimes more than 10 a day.
I went through 4 Embarq modems.
Countless calls to tech support.
Multiple service calls to my house.
No one could find the problem.
I decided to fix it myself and ordered the Netgear modem.
I have not had even one dropped connection.
I noticed the speed varies up and down sometimes.
I did reboot the modem one time when the speed was low and
the speed increased.
I have not tried to make any adjustments to the modem settings to
improve the speed reliability.
My level of expertise is Software Engineer.
I post this here in the hope of helping someone with a similar problem.

billaustin
they call me Mr. Bill
Premium,MVM
join:2001-10-13
North Las Vegas, NV
kudos:3

Maybe the model number and where you bought it would help?

rukrazy

reply to rukrazy

Got it online at frys.
Netgear Broadband DSL Modem (DM111Pv2)

Physical Specications

Dimensions (L x W x H): 146 x 96 x 29.5 mm (5.75 x 3.78 x 1.16 in)
Weight: 190 g (0.42 lb)
Operating temperature: 0 to 40 C (32 to 104 F)

Standards Support

ITU 992.1 (G.DMT) Annex A
ITU 992.5 ADSL2+

Physical Interfaces

LAN port: One 10/100 Mbps auto sensing Auto-MDI-X, RJ-45 port (one Cat 5 UTP cable included)
ADSL port: RJ-11 port

Bridging

RFC 2684 (formerly 1483) Bridged Ethernet over ATM PVCs
Bridged Mode-IEEE 802.1D Transparent bridging-Ethernet to ADSL self learning
Supports up to 128 MAC learning addresses

Encapsulation

PPPoA client
PPPoE client
User name and password
DHCP server, DNS relay
Maintenance

Save/restore configuration, restore defaults, upgrades via Web browser, display statistics, logging

Warranty

NETGEAR 1-year Warranty

Package Contents