chris_j11
join:2003-01-10
canada

chris_j11

install linux in RAM

i'm very new to linux
i'm looking at puppy or maybe pendrive

i have 2-3 yrs old acer laptop
will puppy or other small linux that will automatically install itself to the ram on boot up and just occasionally (automatically) use the hdd when it need to save a data (like history or cache)

my acer only have 20G hdd (last 2 crash)

i only need it for internet / watch dvd -avi / burn cd/dvd / listen to musics and view pics

GILXA1226
MVM
join:2000-12-29
Dayton, OH

GILXA1226

MVM

said by chris_j11:

i'm very new to linux
i'm looking at puppy or maybe pendrive

i have 2-3 yrs old acer laptop
will puppy or other small linux that will automatically install itself to the ram on boot up and just occasionally (automatically) use the hdd when it need to save a data (like history or cache)

my acer only have 20G hdd (last 2 crash)

i only need it for internet / watch dvd -avi / burn cd/dvd / listen to musics and view pics
I would look into a LiveCD, just boot off of that and then mount up your disk as needed.
joemcool
join:2009-03-29
Lexington Park, MD

joemcool

The only problem I see with this is that you would have to make sure the OS loads whatever software you need into RAM before you eject the CD (ie, burning or playback software). This can be fairly memory intensive, so make sure your machine is up to the task. The other hurdle you may run into is that not all laptops will boot from a USB drive. I had a bad experience with a Toshiba piece of crap tablet, and finally ended up transplanting the HDD into another machine to make the install work. Come to think of it, is there a reason that you cant install Linux or something on the hard drive it self? It sounds like there's plenty of room...
chris_j11
join:2003-01-10
canada

chris_j11

i don't have a problem installing linux to my 20g hdd
just that the last 2 hdd crashed already less than a year
so i want to minimize activity on the hdd is possible