spc

spacer

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

duckie1231

join:2009-05-11

[DTA] Why I'm i getting a DTA for my HDTV

Hi guys, this is my first time posting on this forum, first time visiting these forums too.

I don't understand why I have to use a DTA box for my HDTV. From what I understand Comcast is switching everything to digital, so if you have a analog TV you need the DTA box to do just that, convert digital to analog. Ok I understand that. The part I don't understand is that all my TVs have a digital tuner, they can receive digital signals right, so why do I need to get a box that has to take the digital signals that I can receive just fine and convert them to analog. It kinda feels like Comcast is running a scam because the only why you can get digital channels is by spending the extra money on a HD box. I could maybe understand if all the channels are in HD, but they are not. They are the same old analog channels we had before but now they are just in digital. Is there really a need for Comcast to be doing this.

Phugg

join:2004-09-30
Riverbank, CA
Yes there is a reason , but in your case, You do not need the DTA's. Most other people (myself included) have 1 or maybe 2 tv's that are actually digital ready. The 1 tv in my house that is ready is my 15yr old sons 22in Vizio.

dyhrdmet

join:2008-10-25
Springfield, NJ
reply to duckie1231
A DTA and a digital tuner directly on the TV will give you the same channels with different "numbers" (and the DTA will shield you from rescanning and learning the physical channel locations).

the DTA boxes are different from the set top boxes (STBs) that support such things like HDTV, OnDemand, and DVR, as well as subscription-based channels and anything beyond the basic digital package (I don't know what they call it). DTAs are for analog sets only that can't get the digital channels, since the analog channels are being reclaimed for digital programming.