All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

lolwut96
join:2009-04-28

lolwut96

Getting Started

Hello all, I'm an undergraduate electrical/computer engineer looking to get involved in the ham radio community. To be honest, I've been interested in ham radio for years (been a "scanner" for quite some time) and I think it's a perfect hobby that's well suited in my area of interest. So I thought this would be a good place to come with all my questions given that BBR has so kindly included a ham radio forum.

Since I consider myself to be quite the newbie in this area of expertise, I would greatly appreciate it if any of you would like to share your starter tips or firsthand experience as a "new ham" in both the technical and or social aspect of what I consider to be a great community.

Thanks a bunch in helping me with these first few steps! Any method of decreasing the overhead of what seems to be an overwhelmingly large topic is always welcome in my book.

~ Mark

drjim
MVM
join:2000-06-13
Long Beach, CA

drjim

MVM

Find a local club or two and drop in on their meetings. If you're lucky you'll have more than one club, and you can pick the one that fits your interests best.
Here's an ARRL listing of clubs in eastern Pa.
»www.arrl.org/FandES/fiel ··· +section

What aspects of Amateur Radio interest you?

For satellites, check out AMSAT:
»www.amsat.org/amsat-new/

For digital, check out TAPR:
»www.tapr.org/

And there are other's here that can guide you into things like storm chasing, public service and emergency comms, DXing, and other aspects of Amateur Radio.

73, Jim KQ6EA
tobicat
Premium Member
join:2005-04-18
Tombstone, AZ

tobicat to lolwut96

Premium Member

to lolwut96
Well I assume you still have scanners. Listen in on the local repeaters. There almost always is local coffe shop ect that the local guys frequent on a regular basis. Find out where it is and go for some coffee, lunch or what ever.
jacour
Premium Member
join:2001-12-11
Matthews, NC