Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Scam] Federal Funds Administration
Search Topic:
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Phish] Curious BofA phish - manual input found no URLs »
« FTC Cracks Down on Scammers "Operation Short Change"  
AuthorAll Replies


nwrickert
sand groper
Premium,MVM
join:2004-09-04
Geneva, IL
·AT&T U-Verse
·AT&T Midwest

reply to Gaff
Re: [Scam] Federal Funds Administration

(because government sites use .com addresses, right?)
Actually, some government sites do use ".com" addresses, so that's not a foolproof test.

In this case the domain was recently registered:

Domain Name: NEVERGIVEITBACK.COM
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.enom.com
Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
Name Server: NS81.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM
Name Server: NS82.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 08-may-2009
Creation Date: 29-apr-2009
Expiration Date: 29-apr-2010

That reason for suspicion, though not conclusive. However, domain ownership is masked by "Whois Privacy Protection Service, Inc." and, in my opinion, that is a good reason for suspicion for commercial domains or for domains that claim to be government entities.
I'm not sure what the scam is but I'm not going to call and find out.
I checked their page. They ask for name and email address. Then they redirect to a link at www.federalfundsadministration.com. And that's another recently registered domain:

Domain Name: FEDERALFUNDSADMINISTRATION.COM
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.enom.com
Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
Name Server: NS81.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM
Name Server: NS82.WEBSITEWELCOME.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 02-jun-2009
Creation Date: 28-may-2009
Expiration Date: 28-may-2010

and the ownership of that domain is also masked (same masking service).

Finally you get to a page where they say "The only upfront committment on your part is the Simple & Small One-Time $28 Refundable Deposit. Nothing more!"

I guess they are planning on finding lots of suckers who send them that $28 "refundable deposit."

--
AT&T dsl; Westell 327w modem/router; openSuSE 11.0; firefox 3.0.11
-
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Phish] Curious BofA phish - manual input found no URLs »
« FTC Cracks Down on Scammers "Operation Short Change"  


Sunday, 06-Dec 10:24:35 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.republican-creole
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [163] Comcast Releasing Promised Usage Meter
· [147] Avast Antivirus Has Gone Mad
· [128] Comcast Makes NBC Universal Acquisition Official
· [127] The Bandwidth Hog Does Not Exist
· [105] Graduate Student Unveils Sprint's GPS Sharing With Feds
· [101] Google Invades ISP, OpenDNS Turf With Google Public DNS
· [85] FCC Ponders Moving From PSTN To IP Voice
· [82] Latest Consumer Reports Survey Not Kind To AT&T
· [81] New Bill Aims To Limit ETFs
· [75] Sprint Defuses GPS Privacy Media Bomb
Most people now reading
· Problems with rlslog.net? [TekSavvy]
· Is there any true cure for, or way to prevent, a hangover? [General Questions]
· Wife might have to work in.... Iowa for a few months!!! [General Questions]
· False positive in Avast! or is it real? [Security]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· How fast is your upstream internet connection? [General Questions]
· [DNS] Google's public DNS... performance increases? [Comcast HSI]
· Bulb for garage door opener [Home Repair & Improvement]
· [General] Signal Strength/Range: Clear vs Clearwire [Clearwire]
· Maximizing Rogue DPS for 3.1 [World of Warcraft]