site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1254
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
AuthorAll Replies


shortckt
Watchen Das Blinken Lights
Premium
join:2000-12-05
Tenant Hell

10W Firmware Availability

Just dusted off a 10W that I want to put back in service, and went to zyxel.com to look for the latest firmware but this model is no longer listed, even in the legacy product section. Firmware for the ZyWall 10 is available there, but far from the latest, and as I recall the 10W took different f/w from the 10.

A search turned up the latest 10W f/w on ftp.zyxeltech.de however I'm not certain what is their connection to the manufacturer, and I don't trust flashing something from an unknown source.

Many of the driver download sites just link to Zyxel, and the links are dead since Zyxel appears to have removed everything about the 10W from their site.

Anyone know of a trusted source for firmware, or suggestion ?

Graycode

join:2006-04-17
Reviews:
·net2phone

I have zips of the latest 2 versions that I had gotten from zyxel.com in Oct 2007:
  ZyWALL 10W_3.62(WH.13)C0.zip
  ZyWALL 10W_3.62(WH.14)C0.zip

I downloaded and compared the equivalent zips from zyxeltech.de today:
  ZyWALL10W_V3.62(WH.13)C0_Standard.zip
  ZyWALL10W_V3.62(WH.14)C0_Standard.zip

Though named slightly different, the zip files were identical.

Also I downloaded and compared the zips from:
  »files.wallzone.net/adsl/zyxel/Zy···irmware/
Their 2 zip files were also identical.


axybz

join:2006-01-15
Taiwan

1 edit

reply to shortckt

said by shortckt:



A search turned up the latest 10W f/w on ftp.zyxeltech.de however I'm not certain what is their connection to the manufacturer, and I don't trust flashing something from an unknown source.

Many of the driver download sites just link to Zyxel, and the links are dead since Zyxel appears to have removed
ftp.zyxeltech.de is from ZyXEL Deutschland. It is legitimate site. no worry


Anav
Sarcastic Llama? Naw, Just Acerbic
Premium
join:2001-07-16
Dartmouth, NS
kudos:3

Concur, they often have firmwares available when the legitimate sites have basic issue with hosting FTP sites. In other words a godsend!!!



superataru

join:2004-12-07
Kearny, NJ

reply to shortckt
i got from 3.62(wh10) to (wh14).
they are ok 'cause i got an old (but glorious) zw10w on till today.
d'you need? just ask.



shortckt
Watchen Das Blinken Lights
Premium
join:2000-12-05
Tenant Hell

reply to shortckt
So the consensus is that zyxeltech.de is legit.

Thanks Graycode See Profile, axybz See Profile, Anav See Profile and superataru See Profile for responding. Off to download-land I go...


dslpartner

join:2005-02-18

1 edit

reply to shortckt
Whois lookup on zyxeltech.de

Type: PERSON
Name: Klaus Koenig
Address: ZyXEL Deutschland GmbH
Address: Tiefental 4
Pcode: 52223
City: Stolberg-Buesbach
Country: DE
Changed: 2008-01-13T16:45:06+01:00

Klaus is or was one of the CSO guys in ZyXEL DE, quite a nice guy, meet him a few times when I visited ZyXEL DE.

Ohh I haven't looked at his site in a long time, but he used to have some really old manuals up there documenting AT commands that nobody knew about, so it used to be a nice place to treasure hunt at least

--
"Perl is executable line noise, Python is executable pseudo-code."


Saturday, 02-Jun 00:25:50 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics