 xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation A client (let's call him "Mr. H") for whom I have done some light networking support (I'm not a webhosting guy, but have a limited understanding of the basics) has GoDaddy.com as his webhost and e-mail service. A client of Mr. H (call them "bigbank.com") is getting frequent bounces when trying to send e-mail to Mr. H. GoDaddy support claims that either bigbank.com's outbound mail server is being blocked by Spamhaus.org or a link within the e-mails points to a site blacklisted by spamhaus.org. I have looked up the MX records of bigbank.com and they are not on spamhaus' lists. I am awaiting an attached example of a blocked e-mail for further inspection. I anticipate not finding any questionable links and getting stonewalled by GoDaddy. I suppose that's the long way to get around to my question:
I need a recommendation for a reliable webhost that can provide hosted exchange service as well as good web presence. They need to have minimal filtering of e-mail or at least provide access to a quarantine area (a la Postini style). -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ | |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation You may have to have him look at an exchange service provider, they usually do it better then anyone that tries to do the 'all in one'.
Why does he need exchange? Why not just pop/imap?
What is the IP address of his shared server? That is probably what's getting blocked/blacklisted. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
| |
|
 |   twizlar I dont think so. Premium join:2003-12-24 Brantford, ON | Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation Agreed, I would imagine his local mail server is blacklisted. | |
|
 |  |   ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation said by twizlar :Agreed, I would imagine his local mail server is blacklisted. When you get to those big guys, it happens more often then you'd think. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
| |
|
 |  |  |   xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation So you're saying that there is another public mx server from bigbank.com that I don't see because it all comes technically from their listed MX server? FWIW, the senders are in the home office. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ | |
|
 |  |
 |  |
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| Sounds a bit messy...basically, where is Mr. H's email server? What is that ip address? If it's getting spamhouse filtered, the clients bounceback would say that if I recall. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
| |
|
 |   xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendationsaid by ViviTheMage :Sounds a bit messy...basically, where is Mr. H's email server? What is that ip address? If it's getting spamhouse filtered, the clients bounceback would say that if I recall. Mr. H is sending and receiving from GoDaddy addresses as follows: So, I don't Mr. H is being filtered, he can send and receive just fine, but inbound to him is the problem (but only for bigbank.com).
-- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ | |
|
 |
 |   xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation Still confused (seems to be my normal state lately). The sender joeshmoe@bigbank.com is receiving bounce messages directly from GoDaddy when they attempt to send to anyname@misterH.com. GoDaddy wouldn't blacklist their own servers. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ | |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| haha, OH! I mis-interpreted. If godaddy can't do anything about blocking themselves...you need to move to a new host!
You are 100% sure that the user sending emails is inputting the correct email address?
Also, any chance he could forward you a bounceback, so we can see exactly what it's saying? -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
| |
|
 |
 |   xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs: | Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation I have opened a trouble ticket with bigbank.com. | |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs:
| I sent an email to wrh@misterH.com
and it did not bounceback, so yeah ... I think it's safe to assume you are being blacklisted somehow.
If you go into that URL I linked earlier on, you can enter your SMTP server IP and it'll say where you are blacklisted from, both your xx.11 and xx.10 are blacklisted at the same place, I am curious if the whole /24 is. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
| |
|
 |  jester121 Premium join:2003-08-09 Lake Zurich, IL
·surpasshosting
·ViaTalk
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation said by ViviTheMage :I sent an email to wrh@misterH.com You know the whole "misterH" reference is just for conversation sake, right???? OP's client isn't really "misterh.com".... 
OP, clearly Godaddy is seeing the bank's e-mail as somehow spammy (the 554 error message). I'd guess that a lot of banks have problems with this due to all the bank phishing stuff out there; any e-mail claiming to be from a bank gets over scrutinized.
If you're interested in Exchange + BES, check out the blackberry forums, like crackberry.com or whatever else is out there. They usually have sponsored vendors who will host Exchange + BES for a monthly fee. | |
|
 |  |   xpkranger RIP Georgia Theater Premium join:2000-10-27 Atlanta, GA clubs:
·Comcast
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation Thanks. I would think you must be right, except that when I run bigbank's MX server record against the e-mail blacklist checker, it doesn't appear to be blocked by any of the listed organizations. I suspect GoDaddy has some internal list, they are blocking from, OR, as they stated in their support request response to Mr. H, that there could be something in the bigbank.com sender's e-mail that links to a blacklisted address. That would make sense, because not all of the bigbank.com e-mails get blocked. I'm trying to work with bigbank.com's support department to get them to forward an e-mail that was bounced (not just the bounce message) to me so that I can inspect it for any potential links to blacklisted IP's.
As for the error message, that's where my knowledge ended. I didn't know if the 554 error was generated by the senders SMTP server because it wouldn't try to send or because it received rejection message from GoDaddy. I think you've cleared it up, that it is in fact generated by the remote (GoDaddy) server in response to the attempted sending of the e-mail. -- My pics: http://www.flickr.com/photos/xpkranger/ | |
|
 |  |  |  jester121 Premium join:2003-08-09 Lake Zurich, IL
·surpasshosting
·ViaTalk
| Re: Webhosting Service Problem & Recommendation Yep, the 5.1.0 is Bigbank's internal message, the 554 is what it received from GoDaddy. Also keep in mind a third type of spam filtering, content based (Bayes) filtering. It looks for "spammy" phrases and assigns a score, and messages that score high enough may be junkfiled, or if it's even higher, outright rejected before the transmission completes.
Unless you tell it to, Exchange doesn't log each individual part of the SMTP transaction, it just throws the error message at the end. | |
|
 |  |  |
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs: | I never got a bounceback :P. It went ... somewhere. -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
| |
|
  ViviTheMage vivi Premium join:2002-10-28 Minneapolis, MN clubs: | E-Mail is such a finicky business...all of these spammers have made things hard for legit mail to get through! -- »vivicalhosting.com - Affordable web hosting
| |
|
 |
 |
|
 |