site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1905
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Phish Tracker ·Anti-Phishing Work Group ·Avoid Phishing
AuthorAll Replies


AkumalDave
Life's A Beach
Premium,MVM
join:2001-04-20
Minneapolis, MN

[Spam] Circuit City - spamming from the grave?

So I've got a catch-all address set up on one of my domains, which I use for throwaway email stuff. Years ago, I put an address on a Circuit City rebate form and they've been spamming me ever since.

Fast forward to July 2009: Months after Circuit City liquidated, I find more spam from them at my catch-all account. Checking the domain registration, I see that TigerDirect now owns circuitcity.com. Probably a smart move for them (except for the spamming part).

Anyone else still getting spam from the late great CircuitCity.com?

Dave
--
"...enjoy every sandwich..." Warren Zevon 1947-2003


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
kudos:18

Hell, I couldn't get them to spam me or even send the weekly deals emails. I'd sign up, confirm my opt-in, get one email a week later (if that) and then have to sign up again. I went through this about 6 times before the liquidation/selloff happened and still get nothing from them.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?



Somnambul33t
L33t.
Premium
join:2002-12-05
Blackwood, NJ

reply to AkumalDave
systemax aka tigerdirect bought circuitcity.com and all inter-related properties



Krisnatharok
Caveat Emptor
Premium
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit
kudos:3

Yep. And now Circuit City is selling once again online. It's probably a legit advertisement. I bought a plasma TV from their store and think they got my email address off it. I flagged the email once and it all goes to my spam folder.



jjam

@verizon.net

reply to AkumalDave
Yes, i've gotten a few in the past couple of weeks


Madtown
Premium
join:2008-04-26
Madera, CA

reply to AkumalDave
Is it safe to buy from them now?



Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
kudos:18

1 edit

said by Madtown:

Is it safe to buy from them now?
It is Tiger Direct owned. If you think Tiger Direct is safe, then you are good to go.

CircuitCity.com is back, copy of CompUSA & Tiger Direct site
24 May 2009 - 15:36
»www.neowin.net/news/main/09/05/2···r-direct
quote:
CircuitCity lives again, or at least the name does. As of May 23 the site has gone live again offering the types of products that you would expect from the defunct mega-retailer. While the main page feels familiar the rest of the site has changed to a well-known feeling that most will be able to easily navigate.

Systemax was the company who bought up the Circuit City assets including the domain name and other online related property. Not so coincidentally the same company who also bought up CompUSA's domain assets also own and run Tigerdirect.com.

Knowing this fact it becomes quite apparent that CircuitCity.com is a direct copy of CompUSA and TigerDirect. So much in fact that they use the same backend software to run all of the sites, need proof?

Try this, go to CircuitCity.com and pick any product and click add to cart. After hitting "add to cart" you can change the core address of the website and have the exact same product added to your cart on the other websites.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?

Friday, 01-Jun 12:25:01 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics