republican-creole
Search:  

 
 
   All ForumsHot TopicsGallery






how-to block ads


 
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters » [Spam] Circuit City - spamming from the grave?
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1017
Share Topic:
RSS topic:
toggle:
flat / full
normal / watch
Posting:
Post a:
Post a:
[Phish] 601-923-1992 »
« collect corp, and Tammi burton message 866-754-6001  
AuthorAll Replies
-


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:


1 edit
reply to Madtown
Re: [Spam] Circuit City - spamming from the grave?

said by Madtown See Profile :

Is it safe to buy from them now?
It is Tiger Direct owned. If you think Tiger Direct is safe, then you are good to go.

CircuitCity.com is back, copy of CompUSA & Tiger Direct site
24 May 2009 - 15:36
»www.neowin.net/news/main/09/05/2···r-direct
quote:
CircuitCity lives again, or at least the name does. As of May 23 the site has gone live again offering the types of products that you would expect from the defunct mega-retailer. While the main page feels familiar the rest of the site has changed to a well-known feeling that most will be able to easily navigate.

Systemax was the company who bought up the Circuit City assets including the domain name and other online related property. Not so coincidentally the same company who also bought up CompUSA's domain assets also own and run Tigerdirect.com.

Knowing this fact it becomes quite apparent that CircuitCity.com is a direct copy of CompUSA and TigerDirect. So much in fact that they use the same backend software to run all of the sites, need proof?

Try this, go to CircuitCity.com and pick any product and click add to cart. After hitting "add to cart" you can change the core address of the website and have the exact same product added to your cart on the other websites.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?

Madtown

join:2008-04-26
Madera, CA
reply to AkumalDave
Is it safe to buy from them now?


jjam

@verizon.net
reply to AkumalDave
Yes, i've gotten a few in the past couple of weeks


Krisnatharok
0311 Scout
Premium
join:2009-02-11
Sterling, VA
reply to Somnambul33t
Yep. And now Circuit City is selling once again online. It's probably a legit advertisement. I bought a plasma TV from their store and think they got my email address off it. I flagged the email once and it all goes to my spam folder.


Somnambul33t
L33t.
Premium
join:2002-12-05
Mullica Hill, NJ
clubs:
reply to AkumalDave
systemax aka tigerdirect bought circuitcity.com and all inter-related properties


Doctor Olds
I Need A Remedy For What's Ailing Me.
Premium,VIP
join:2001-04-19
1970 442 W30
clubs:

reply to AkumalDave
Hell, I couldn't get them to spam me or even send the weekly deals emails. I'd sign up, confirm my opt-in, get one email a week later (if that) and then have to sign up again. I went through this about 6 times before the liquidation/selloff happened and still get nothing from them.
--
What’s the point of owning a supercar if you can’t scare yourself stupid from time to time?


AkumalDave
Life's A Beach
Premium,MVM
join:2001-04-20
Minneapolis, MN

So I've got a catch-all address set up on one of my domains, which I use for throwaway email stuff. Years ago, I put an address on a Circuit City rebate form and they've been spamming me ever since.

Fast forward to July 2009: Months after Circuit City liquidated, I find more spam from them at my catch-all account. Checking the domain registration, I see that TigerDirect now owns circuitcity.com. Probably a smart move for them (except for the spamming part).

Anyone else still getting spam from the late great CircuitCity.com?

Dave
--
"...enjoy every sandwich..." Warren Zevon 1947-2003
Forums » Up and Running » Security » Spam, Scam and Phishbusters[Phish] 601-923-1992 »
« collect corp, and Tammi burton message 866-754-6001  


Wednesday, 09-Dec 21:46:59 Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Hosting by www.nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo | feedback | contact
over 10 years online! © 1999-2009 dslreports.com.
page compression OFF
Most commented news this week
· [199] Sprint Sued For Distracted Driving Death
· [107] AT&T Launching New 24 Mbps U-Verse Tier
· [82] 3G Network Test Says AT&T Is Tops
· [72] Mediacom Unveils 105 Mbps Pricing
· [66] Sprint Poised For A Turnaround?
· [63] WPA Cracker: Test WPA-PSK Networks In 20 Minutes
· [56] AT&T Hints At Usage-Based iPhone Data Pricing
· [51] The Future Of Wi-Fi Is Bright
· [47] Site Leaks Yahoo, Verizon Fed Data Share Pricing
· [44] Microwaving Your Innards Is Not 'Extreme'
Most people now reading
· Is sleeping similar to being dead? [General Questions]
· Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.42.34 [Security]
· Windows 7 boot manager editing questions [Microsoft Help]
· Comcast refused to install 400' feet. [Comcast HSI]
· Hot Girl falls face first down stairs [56k Lookout (Broadband Heavy)]
· ICC strats [World of Warcraft]
· Road Runnner up to 50 mbps is ready ! [Road Runner]
· Forwarding previous owner's mail [Home Repair & Improvement]
· ICC Strats??? [World of Warcraft]