  AndrewS
@cgocable.net
| [Internet] Is Bell blocking a website?
I'm unable to view www.seekmybits.com when using my DSL connection. If I switch to my Cogeco connection, it's fine. Using my DSL connection I receive a "The requested URL was not found on this server" message. I can ping the site fine, so it doesn't appear to be a DNS issue. I can also view the site if I use an anonymous proxy connection. I also had a relative check via their Bell DSL connection, and they received the same message.
If they are doing this intentionally, this is an all-time low.
Can any other Bell DSL subscribers see the page?
Any ideas on what may be going on?
Thanks! |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | This looks like a redirection type problem where for some reason the page you're looking at can't be loaded. Notice that it's not that you can't get to smb ... whatever URL it's redirecting to can't be seen. |
|
  dirtyjeffer Merry Christmas Premium join:2002-02-21 London, ON | reply to AndrewS works fine on Rogers. |
|
  Bells a funder
@videotron.ca
| reply to AndrewS no issues here.
I suggest you make a post at »forums.bell.ca/ and make the title of your post something like this to draw attention to it: why is Bell blocking torrent type web sites. Is Bell the new Canadian MPAA?
 |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | This isn't Bell blocking sites. This thread is just a case of first reaction, given Bell's behaviour, is to blame Bell ... just like Rogers users blame Rogers. |
|
 Keaters
join:2007-07-25 Chatham, ON
·Bell Sympatico
| reply to AndrewS I tried with my service, I was not able to pull up the site and got the same error. If I used a proxy server, I was able to pull up the website. I am having the same problem with www.megashares.com. What else will bell do?? I call tech support and got a Canadian and when I asked him, he hung up on me...now I am suspicious |
|
 munky99999 Munky
join:2004-04-10 canada clubs:
| reply to AndrewS Well bell's dns servers are superb. I remember back in ~october 2002 and ~feb 2007 when the root servers were attacked. The bell dsl and t-carriers were slowed badly on oddball connections but normal stuff was very quick still.
I really doubt bell is going to block any websites. Blocking anything large would cause a large uproar; blocking small is moreso a situation of why does bell care?
Now the issue of "but ping works so it cant be dns"
I doubt that. Ping only says that SOMETHING is there. Not what you want.
Which if you pseudoproxy the page it is there.
I'm thinking that it's moreso a case of Bell's DNS servers having bad cache. Which is sort of the caveat of the prior situation.
Just a matter of waiting for the update i think. |
|
  Workshere
@bell.ca | reply to AndrewS Works fine here |
|
  AndrewS
@cgocable.net
| reply to munky99999 Just to clarify, when I said ping worked so it wasn't DNS, I meant that the ping (apart from responding) resolved to the same IP address that it did when I use my cable connection.
It seems as though it may be as sbrook suggests, that it is being redirected. Then the question is, at what point is it being redirected, and why?
Regarding an update from Bell's DNS servers, this has been ongoing for close to a week now. I'm not sure how long that update would take, but a week seems lengthy. |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
| reply to Workshere I've done some research ...
For starters, I knew that
"The requested URL was not found on this server"
error message says ... I found the destination domain and the web server there, but the server can't give me the actual page I want.
This is usually a configuration error on the destination website and is common with a couple types of web publishing tools creating bad .htaccess files.
If I try to load www.seekmybits.com it loads properly with the correct redirect to the login page ... but if I try to load www.seekmybits.com/index.html I get this error, which is an error 404.
This problem is NOTHING to do with Bell. Check your browser defaults. Try a different browser. |
|
  AndrewS
@cgocable.net
| I don't think this has anything to do with browser problems. As I wrote, switching to my Cogeco connection, the site loads fine. The same problem happens with IE or FF or Chrome when using my Bell connection.
Additionally, I've been using this site for almost 5 months without issue. Furthermore, the tracker is not accessible through utorrent, either, when I'm using my Bell connection. I don't see how this can't be a problem related to Bell. |
|
  hmm
@videotron.ca
| reply to AndrewS Write to them and see if they have an IP range blocked or something. But their faq says not to bother contacting them heh.
Your failure to connect may be due to several reasons.
Maybe my address is blacklisted?
The site blocks addresses listed in the (former) PeerGuardian database, as well as addresses of banned users. This works at Apache/PHP level, it's just a script that blocks logins from those addresses. It should not stop you from reaching the site. In particular it does not block lower level protocols, you should be able to ping/traceroute the server even if your address is blacklisted. If you cannot then the reason for the problem lies elsewhere.
If somehow your address is indeed blocked in the PG database do not contact us about it, it is not our policy to open ad hoc exceptions. You should clear your IP with the database maintainers instead.
Your ISP blocks the site's address
(In first place, it's unlikely your ISP is doing so. DNS name resolution and/or network problems are the usual culprits.) There's nothing we can do. You should contact your ISP (or get a new one). Note that you can still visit the site via a proxy, follow the instructions in the relevant section. In this case it doesn't matter if the proxy is anonymous or not, or which port it listens to.
Notice that you will always be listed as an "unconnectable" client because the tracker will be unable to check that you're capable of accepting incoming connections.
It's possible that there is an IP range that both you and keaters have that is black listed.
If they use peer guardian's IP's as they state, then this is possible.
Peer guardian even blocks (or did block) Bell Canada's own forum IP  |
|
 Keaters
join:2007-07-25 Chatham, ON
·Bell Sympatico
| reply to AndrewS Well, I called Bell again and got a supervisor involved. They tried the website from their call centre in Moncton NB, and they said they were able to load the seekmybits.com website. I actually had them remotely log into my computer and when then did they had to change my dns settings and had to hardwire me into the 2wire modem in order to get the website. The issue I was having with megashares.com, the change to my dns settings was able to resolve the problem Here is the settings they used:
Preferred DNS Server: 4.2.2.2 Atlernative DNS Server: 4.2.2.1
Oh, these settings come from the Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) Properties. |
|
  AndrewS
@cgocable.net
| Well, I tried setting my DNS as you indicated, but the problem persists. I also tried megashares.com and didn't have any problem with it before or after setting the DNS addresses.
@hmm, I wonder if it is a blacklisting via PG? It's possible that I acquired a new IP address that was in a blacklisted range. I'll investigate that. Thanks! |
|
 Harleyguy
join:2008-02-01 Waterdown, ON | www.seekmybits.com/index.html or www.seekmybits.com wont work on my pc either.
The requested URL was not found on this server |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0
·Rogers Hi-Speed
Host: Rogers Bell Canada
1 edit | Try this specific link ... (it is clickable and identical to what you see except for the quotes)
"http://www.seekmybits.com/login.php?returnto=%2F"
or this one ... "http://www.seekmybits.com/links.php" |
|
  I C
@videotron.ca
| reply to AndrewS ah.
-
[15:44] * Dns resolving seekmybits.com
-
[15:44] * Dns resolved seekmybits.com to 76.76.5.102
-
[15:44] * Dns resolving 76.76.5.102
-
[15:44] * Dns resolved 76.76.5.102 to unknown.carohosting.net
-
[15:44] * Dns resolving unknown.carohosting.net
-
[15:44] * Dns resolved unknown.carohosting.net to 64.132.46.107
-
[15:45] * Dns resolving 64.132.46.107
-
[15:45] * Dns resolved 64.132.46.107 to web01.clt.carohosting.com |
|
  I C
@videotron.ca | reply to Harleyguy Harely, what IP does the host resolve to for you? |
|
  forgot 2 add
@videotron.ca | reply to AndrewS Also, try connecting to: »76.76.5.102/ |
|
  sbrook Premium,Mod join:2001-12-14 H0H 0H0 | seekmybits is hosted by Carolina Internet (carohosting) Hence the dns resolution you see. Nothing wrong there. |
|