spc
Search similar:

uniqs

sochee
@verizon.net

sochee

Anon

[speed/latency] Verizon DSL speed capped to 200 kb/s

A couple of weeks ago I noticed that my Verizon DSL connection reached max download speed at around 180-200 KB/s. I have had the 3Mbps/768kbps package for about 3 years now, and my download speed for these 3 years was always 300 KB/s (did not reach the 370 KB/s max because of the line quality). Upload always maxed out around 85.

I thought nothing of it, since my service regularly drops, sometimes for days, sometimes for weeks, and Verizon tech support has never, ever helped (yet I get calls every week to switch to FIOS). They always tell me it's my problem, but I've been working in the IT field for about 10 years and I know that's it not my router. I decided to wait and see if the speed went back up, since usually the best way to resolve Verizon issues in my area is to wait until Verizon realizes something is wrong.

However, after a month of waiting my download speed is still capped around 180 KB/s to 200 KB/s. It's not a hard cap, and jumps around continuously. I'm tired of paying for 2/3 of what I'm supposed to be getting. I am still getting billed the same amount, upload speed is the same, yet download speed has suffered.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what happened, and what should I do? I just spent an hour on the line with Verizon and they told me to restart my router, my computer, reinstall my NIC, and after none of it helped, they told me (predictably) it's my problem. I've tested the wiring inside my house by connecting to the basement box downstairs, and the problem persists there as well.
pjclere4
join:2007-11-02
Perrysburg, OH

pjclere4

I AM HAVING THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM!