All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

Linusv
@rr.com

Linusv

Anon

How to share one phone with Vonage and local phone service?

Could not find an answer to this simple question so I thought I'd post it here. I am new to vonage service and received the standard equipment.

How can I connect my one phone to both Vonage and my local phone service? I tried using a phone splitter but got a lot of distortion with the calls. Is there something I am missing. I can do this with my Skype setup easily.

Ideally I would like to pick up my one phone and make a call using Vonage or local phone service provider. Is this possible and if so How?

Thanks.

snolsen
join:2004-01-10
Bedford, NH

snolsen

Can't do it. You might get a nasty call from the telco.

dellsweig
Extreme Aerobatics
MVM
join:2003-12-10
Campbell Hall, NY

dellsweig

MVM

said by snolsen:

Can't do it. You might get a nasty call from the telco.
Be real careful here..... Normally you have to physically disconnect the outside phone line to use Vonage - this is because the 48V ring voltage from your POTS will fry the ATA/VTA from vonage.

You can pick up a 2 line phone ($50 radio shack) and use one line for local number and the other for Vonage - make sure your wire them separately

Why keep the local line??

N9MD
Too busy to chat
Premium Member
join:2005-10-08
Boca Raton, FL

N9MD to Linusv

Premium Member

to Linusv
Ponder this ... if you have the phone linked to two separate phone lines (be they PSTN or VoIP or a combination of the two) ... each time you pick up the phone (or push the "dial" button) you are going "off hook" for both lines ... obtaining two simultaneous dial tones. That's no-no.

A splitter doesn't do anything to help since it just simultaneously connects the one phone to both "dial tones".