Rara Avises
Premium Member
join:2005-01-12
Southwest LA

1 edit

Daarken

Premium Member

Home Security Camera System

As a special systems designer, I from time to time get involved with a clients system when they have a situation and a standard technician is not available.
Today I was called out to a residence which was robbed last night. Fortunately the client had bought a covert camera system, which they had all but forgotten about.
When I arrived this afternoon to the location, I was in for a wild ride. The home is owned by a college student (his father had paid for the system and was out of the country). Well the student has a roommate and they had one of those nightly parties they are known for that had a twist. After the evening had slowed down, they noticed someone outside by one of their cars, when the owner went to the window to get a closer look, the front door burst open and 2 young gangsters/wannabe/crooks walked. One of them was holding a revolver the other a 40 or 45 (it looked like a 1911) and both of them where wearing hoodies.
The 2 thieves then proceeded to pat down everyone and get a little rough. The occupants at the time where 2 guys and a stocky chick. Atleast 2 of them got pistol whipped in the process, and the 2 guys made off with a laptop, xbox360/games and cash. It was sort of surreal watching a full home invasion like this.
Ironically because the students where either stoned/drunk the cops felt they where lying and didn't really do anything. (as indicated by the individuals).
The system was able to record the entire incident and some good images can easily be extracted and used for identifying the perpetrators.
Hopefully justice will be swift.
So far they will have multiple felony charges and hopefully goto jail for a long long time when they are caught.

So the moral of this story is, quality home camera systems are becoming popular and if done properly you wouldn't even know the systems are there, and ironically rather inexpensive.