All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

SirMeowmix_I
@windstream.net

SirMeowmix_I

Anon

Thinking about a motorcycle, what do I need to look for?

I'm thinking about purchasing a motorcycle to commute on nice days, I'm here in the SE and the weather tends to be decent at least if not more than 1/2 of the year. I'm thinking about a used bike, something that's comfortable but not a rice-rocket. Should I go shaft, belt, or chain, and what else to look for? I've always heard that shaft driven tends to be the best approach but at the same time Civic requires a timing belt change every 100K, so belt driven does have some longevity. Really would appreciate your advice or opinions. Serious replies only if you don't mind.

Hiker
Zeus
Premium Member
join:2002-10-27
Pipersville

Hiker

Premium Member

Oh man, where to begin - well here, I guess. I spent a year researching this very subject. I started riding 3 years ago. Have you ever ridden? 1st take the beginner safety class. Many different styles of bike as you alluded to and sound like you like the look of cruisers.

I bought a used Japanese Vulcan (VN750) it was 5 years old with 4,000 miles for $3,000 Many suggested to go smaller for my 1st bike but, I didn't want to have to sell and buy bigger too quickly. So I didn't want to go too small or too big. It was an excellent 1st bike much more powerful than I thought it would be.

You'll no doubt hear a myriad of opinions as to the +/- of the various drive trains. Shaft needs to be kept lubed, chain needs to be kept clean and lubed, belt seems to be the most efficient and quietest but I wouldn't let any of em stop me from buying a bike.

Gotta go for now, I'm sure other riders will chime in soon.

Keep the shiny side up...

neonhomer
Dearborn 5-2750
Premium Member
join:2004-01-27
Edgewater, FL

neonhomer to SirMeowmix_I

Premium Member

to SirMeowmix_I