site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
4891
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Phish Tracker ·Anti-Phishing Work Group ·Avoid Phishing
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies

ender7074

join:2006-11-21
Saint Louis, MO

reply to Dennis

Re: [Phish] email from CDC "personal vaccination profile"

Yah got this one at work today as well. Someone's putting a lot of time and effort into this.... may they rot in hell.
--
Does Microsoft mean small and squishy?

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
kudos:9

reply to Dennis
This is another example of the need for real time Global BGP blocking and blackholing.

quote:
The data identified by the following URLs was then requested from the remote web server(s):

>http://193.104.41.75/cbd/75.bro
>http://193.104.41.75/kissme/rec.php
>http://promed-net.com/css/absderce2.exe
>http://193.104.41.75/ip.php
===============================

AS49934 home to IP 193.104.41.75 is on various blacklists, and is now been added to the SBL:

=======================================
Cybercrime & botnet spamming hub

inetnum: 193.104.41.0 - 193.104.41.255
netname: VVPN-NET
descr: PE Voronov Evgen Sergiyovich
country: UA
org: ORG-PESV2-RIPE
admin-c: ESV1-RIPE
tech-c: ESV1-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PI
mnt-by: VVPN-MNT
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-END-MNT
mnt-lower: RIPE-NCC-END-MNT
mnt-routes: VVPN-MNT
mnt-domains: VVPN-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered

organisation: ORG-PESV2-RIPE
org-name: PE Voronov Evgen Sergiyovich
org-type: OTHER
descr: PE Evgen Sergeevich Voronov
address: 22 Plyazhna str.,
address: Sebastopol, Ukraine
phone: +380 67 2307487
e-mail: voronoves@i.ua
admin-c: ESV1-RIPE
tech-c: ESV1-RIPE
mnt-ref: VVPN-MNT
mnt-by: VVPN-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered

person: Evgen Sergeevich Voronov
address: 22 Plyazhna str.,
address: Sebastopol, Ukraine
phone: +380 67 2307487
e-mail: voronoves@i.ua
nic-hdl: ESV1-RIPE
mnt-by: VVPN-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered

% Information related to '193.104.41.0/24AS49934'

route: 193.104.41.0/24
descr: PE Voronov Evgen Sergiyovich
origin: AS49934
mnt-by: VVPN-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered

________________________________________________

aut-num: AS49934
as-name: VVPN-AS
descr: PE Voronov Evgen Sergiyovich
import: from AS31366 accept ANY
export: to AS31366 announce AS31366
import: from AS15497 accept ANY
export: to AS15497 announce AS49934
import: from AS8359 accept ANY
export: to AS8359 announce AS49934
org: ORG-PESV2-RIPE
admin-c: ESV1-RIPE
tech-c: ESV1-RIPE
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-END-MNT
mnt-routes: VVPN-MNT
mnt-by: VVPN-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered

organisation: ORG-PESV2-RIPE
org-name: PE Voronov Evgen Sergiyovich
org-type: OTHER
descr: PE Evgen Sergeevich Voronov
address: 22 Plyazhna str.,
address: Sebastopol, Ukraine
phone: +380 67 2307487
admin-c: ESV1-RIPE
tech-c: ESV1-RIPE
mnt-ref: VVPN-MNT
mnt-by: VVPN-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered

person: Evgen Sergeevich Voronov
address: 22 Plyazhna str.,
address: Sebastopol, Ukraine
phone: +380 67 2307487
nic-hdl: ESV1-RIPE
mnt-by: VVPN-MNT
source: RIPE # Filtered
________________________________________________

»cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS31366
»cidr-report.org/cgi-bin/as-report?as=AS49934
=======================================
»www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?q···SBL82374

»support.clean-mx.de/clean-mx/vir···104.41.%

Appears to be a dedicated home for the Zeus / Zbot operation on several IPs within the bloc: »www.malwareurl.com/listing.php?as=AS49934

MGD

reply to Dennis
I sent an email to the CDC yesterday morning informing them of the scam and got back the following:

From: CDC-INFO [CDCINFO@cdc.gov]
Subject: RE: Email from CDC spreading viruses (computer)

Thank you for your inquiry to CDC-INFO. In response to your request for information on an e-mail you received claiming to be from CDC asking you to complete an online profile, please see the following information.

Do not fill out or provide any information as requested in the e-mail you received.

There are certain things that a true CDC representative will NEVER ask you for. CDC will NEVER ask for a Social Security Number, bank account information or credit card information. CDC also does not share personal information about another person at any time. If someone has asked you for any of this information, or shared information about another person with you, that person was not a representative of CDC.

If you feel that the information you provided may be used for identity theft, please contact the following agencies:

- the "identity theft" sections of the police department and the state attorney general's office;

- if you have given your social security number, contact the credit reporting bureaus (Equifax, TransUnion, Experian) identity theft sections;

- there is an identity theft link on the FirstGov website that will tell you what steps to take.

Identity Theft Resources

FirstGov
»www.consumer.gov/idtheft/index.html

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for contacting CDC-INFO Contact Center. Please do not hesitate to call 1-800-CDC-INFO, e-mail cdcinfo@cdc.gov or visit »www.cdc.gov if you have any additional questions.

CDC-INFO is a service of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR). This service is provided by Vangent, Inc. under contract to CDC and ATSDR.



Bink63
Tweet THIS
Premium
join:2002-10-06
Everywhere
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse

The CDC is noting this on their site now...

»www.flu.gov/myths/index.html

quote:
Flu Myths and Realities

"The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is sending e-mails about a governmental registration program on the H1N1 vaccination"

These e-mails are not from the CDC – they are fraudulent emails referencing a CDC-sponsored Vaccination Program. they are spam e-mails designed by computer hackers to spread a computer virus.

The messages request that users must create a personal H1N1 (swine flu) Vaccination Profile on the cdc.gov website. The message then states that anyone that has reached the age of 18 has to have his/her personal Vaccination Profile on the cdc.gov site.

The CDC has NOT implemented a state vaccination program requiring registration on www.cdc.gov. Users that click on the email are at risk of having malicious code installed on their system. CDC reminds users to take the following steps to reduce the risk of being a victim of a phishing attack:

Do not follow unsolicited links and do not open or respond to unsolicited email messages.
Use caution when visiting un-trusted websites.
Use caution when entering personal information online.
--
Hopefully the Ministry Of Truth and Thought Police can sort this whole thing out.
»twitter.com/bink63
»otadigital.tv/forum/index
Frank Shoemaker would call this noise
GO Cubs GO!!!


Doctor Four
My other vehicle is a TARDIS
Premium
join:2000-09-05
Dallas, TX

reply to Dennis
Also on Computerworld:

Botnet continues massive H1N1 malware campaign

»www.computerworld.com/s/article/···campaign

At its peak, the fake CDC messages were hitting mailservers at the rate of 18,000 messages per minute, according to Florida based email security firm AppRiver.
--
"The trouble with computers, of course, is that they are very sophisticated idiots." - Doctor Who (from Robot)


Whip

join:2009-01-23
Califon, NJ

said by Doctor Four:

Also on Computerworld:

Botnet continues massive H1N1 malware campaign

»www.computerworld.com/s/article/···campaign

At its peak, the fake CDC messages were hitting mailservers at the rate of 18,000 messages per minute, according to Florida based email security firm AppRiver.
So does that mean it is..............viral? lol


Dude111
An Awesome Dude
Premium
join:2003-08-04
USA
kudos:10

reply to Dennis
Saw something in the paper this morning about this....


Sunday, 03-Jun 03:07:23 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics