Search similar:

uniqs

ReformCRTC
Support Your Independent ISP
join:2004-03-07
Canada

ReformCRTC to 18172841

to 18172841

Re: Do You Warm-Up Your Car In Cold Weather? Don't Do It!

At 50 below, oil gelling is one of a litany of problems vehicles will face. Fuel lines can even freeze. Watch Ice Road Truckers for a bit of insight into what measures to take.

RR Conductor
Ridin' the rails
Premium Member
join:2002-04-02
Redwood Valley, CA

1 edit

RR Conductor

Premium Member

The Alaska Railroad and some Canadian Lines also face those kinds of temps, it's quite a job keeping the freight and passengers moving in those conditions!

Xstar_Lumini
join:2008-12-14
CANADA

Xstar_Lumini to duc_grrl

to duc_grrl
said by duc_grrl:

Ok this is purely a question. I am a long-haul truck driver, my truck uses Rotella T Synthetic 5W-40 oil. Last winter in -50C temperatures in Brooks AB my engine blow-by tube froze over and my engine spewed about 20L of oil out the dipstick.
Hi! I worked in Fort McMurray, Alberta one winter and the temperature dipped to -54 below zero, the windchill was about -67, anyways I witnessed with my own eyes as diesel-powered generators and idling pick-up trucks literally just turn themselvesoff from the cold never to start again if left 10 mins without cranking them back to life.

Anyways, cars definitely need warming up when starting in cold weather, at least to liquify your oils, don't believe what others tell you in this thread.

Its a Secret
Please speak into the microphone
Premium Member
join:2008-02-23
Da wet coast

Its a Secret

Premium Member

Ahh, man! I can relate. Having spent considerable time in the frozen wastelands, there were a few things you never went without. Those were:

• two block heaters in an engine
• Interior car warmers (the heaters inside your car to keep the glass clear and seats, dash from cracking! No shit)
• Gas line anti-freeze (dry gas, aka methyl alcohol) Water in the line was potentially deadly