Search similar:

uniqs

compuguybna
join:2009-06-17
Nashville, TN

compuguybna to Pakapab

to Pakapab

Re: Starband Vs Hughesnet

Can anyone that has Starband take a picture of your dish setup and post it here?

I am assuming that the Starband dish would be alot bigger than then Hughes HN9000 dish?

Pakapab
Premium Member
join:2002-03-17
Cap Haitien

Pakapab

Premium Member

Sure Ill get a pic to you this afternoon, but be warned I work out of the Caribbean, so yes our dishes are bigger. A 1.2 meter antenna (instead of the .75E antenna used in the continental U.S.).

If I recall Hughesnet uses the .75E antenna also. Although the bigger the dish, the better reception you will get and less rain/snow fade.
badbear2000
join:2010-03-25
Mckenzie, TN

badbear2000 to Pakapab

to Pakapab
I am a Starband installer living near St Marc, Haiti. I am using an 8' dish with the standard transmitter. I realized if I used the smaller dish, I would need to use the 2 watt transmitter. I have a good signal and for the most part my internet works very well, but I have a problem with magic jack. Sometimes it works great but most of the time I can hear well but the other end cannot hear me.
I do have the 1500 which is suppose to be 1.5mb down and 256kb up. I sometimes get as high as 2mb down but have never gotten over 150kb up. However most of the time the up load is around 70kb and my download is around 600kb. My latency will vary from 300 to 600.
Does anyone think using the standard dish from Channel Master recommended by Starband with the 2 watt transmitter be better. When I check the signal I get with my 8' dish it is very high.

Pakapab
Premium Member
join:2002-03-17
Cap Haitien

Pakapab

Premium Member