spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

elRey

join:2010-01-22

[Speed] What is the highest speed a D2 BEFCMU10 can be provision

I know 22/5 and 50/10 require a D3 modem to realize full speed, BUT....

If I pay for 22/5 and want to see how fast my BEFCMU10 v4 can be, can Comcast provision it to 24200/5500?

Do they even have a config file for it that high?

Thanks,
Rey

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

Re: [Speed] What is the highest speed a D2 BEFCMU10 can be provi

comcast has configs for the tiers they offer....they dont have custom made configs for whatever speed you want....

elRey

I want a 22/5 config. That's a tier they offer, right?

trythisfirst

@comcast.net
reply to elRey

It would automatically do 16 i believe.

jack b
Gone Fishing
Premium,MVM
join:2000-09-08
Cape Cod
kudos:1
reply to elRey

According to SpeedGuide.net specs, the docsis2 compatible WAN throughput limits are 42/10, so if Comcast has the firmware approved for your modem, it should be able to get 22/5.
--
~Help Find a Cure for Cancer~
~Proud Member of Team Discovery ~

DarkLogix
Texan and Proud
Premium
join:2008-10-23
Baytown, TX
kudos:3

but to expect to get that high of a percent of a single channel is unlikely

22/5 tierspeed
42/10 max speed (using 1 up and 1 down channel)
52%/50% so I wouldn't expect a D2 modem to get the full 22/5 hardly

now if you look at the percents on a d3 system
22/5
42per channels/30 per channel (based on wiki info)
say your lucky and have 4/1 channels
13%/16% = much more likely to actually get your speeds

elRey

said by DarkLogix:

Understood, but I'd still like to try.

So, I guess the question now is if Comcast has a 22/5 file for the befcmu10v4 or if a D3 file (befcmu10 specific or not) will work.

jack b
Gone Fishing
Premium,MVM
Cape Cod

2 edits