Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

marcel31

join:2013-02-23
Mississauga, ON
reply to johnwhelan

Re: IPv6 beta

I have RT-AC66U same options and I have pretty much given up on getting it to work with Teksavvy. I am not an expert on this stuff so I am not really sure who to blame but although I love my router Documentation on how to set up IPv6 simply sux. I wish it was automatic. I think that's what "DHCP-PD" connection would do if it was supported by Teksavvy.

johnwhelan

join:2013-03-15

It sounds like we need the static IP side but what the values for
WAN IPv6 Address
WAN Prefix Length
WAN IPv6 Gateway

LAN IPv6 Prefix
LAN Prefix Length
LAN IPv6 Address

IPv6 DNS Server 1
IPv6 DNS Server 2
IPv6 DNS Server 3

are I'm unclear. Perhaps someone can translate the terms into Teksavvyish.

Thanks John

SimplePanda
Go Habs Go
Premium
join:2003-09-22
Toronto, ON
Reviews:
·TekSavvy DSL

N66u is easy to configure with TekSavvy.

Yes, you do use "Static IPv6". In the future hopefully this will move to automatic with DHCPv6-PD but for now static is the way it's done.

Configure your PPPoE connection for your @hsiservice.net login first and verify that regular IPv4 works fine, then...

Assuming TekSavvy assigned you:

IPV6 /64: 2607:f2c0:a000:aa::/64
IPV6 /56: 2607:f2c0:f00f:bb::/56

You would fill in the following on your 66u:

WAN IPv6 Address: 2607:f2c0:a000:aa::1
WAN Prefix Length: 64
WAN IPv6 Gateway: 2607:f2c0:a000:aa::1 (same as your address)

LAN IPv6 Prefix: 2607:f2c0:f00f:bb::
LAN Prefix Length: 56
LAN IPv6 Address : 2607:f2c0:f00f:bb::1

So, the WAN is your /64 address with "1" on the end (or could be anything, it's just an assignment you give) and a 64 prefix (hence /64).

The LAN prefix is your /56 without any address (so ending in ::), 56 as the prefix lenght, and your prefix with "1" at the end (or whatever you want) as the LAN address.