uniqs
share rss forum feed

Tzale
Proud Libertarian Conservative
Premium
join:2004-01-06
NYC Metro

120v Vs. 240v Power Input

I'm not an electrical engineer, and only know the basics of electricity... I was thinking today that since my power supply can accept 120v and 240v, why not use 240v due to the increased efficiency? I believe higher voltage devices are more efficient due to less heat loss, and I have a spare 240v outlet available next to my computer that is not used. Would this be worth it at all? Even if it only saves a few bucks a year?

-Tzale
--
They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.
-:-
"I believe the very heart and soul of conservatism is libertarianism."~Ronald Reagan
-:-
www.freestateproject.org - LIVE LIBERTY

fiosuerny

@verizon.net
My guess is that the wattage used, and thus the kw/h you pay for, will be nearly identical on 110v or 240v.

But if you are really curious, buy a Kill A Watt meter and put it between each wall outlet and your power supply for a day or 3. The meter will answer your question.

aurgathor

join:2002-12-01
Lynnwood, WA
kudos:1
reply to Tzale
In that case, the difference in efficiency will be minuscule, at best.
--
And the winner is:

Jahntassa
What, I can have feathers
Premium
join:2006-04-14
Conway, SC
kudos:4

1 edit

1 recommendation

reply to Tzale
I may be stupid (it's been said before), but I was under the impression that a computer power supply expecting 240v is still expecting a Hot / Neutral / Ground 3-pin setup. If you don't have a single-leg 240 hot in that outlet, i'm not sure if it would work.

Again, I could be wrong, but I believe you'd need something like an L6-20 240v 4-pin outlet combined with a PDU (Power Distribution Unit) that converts the 2-leg 240v to one.

I would be wrong about the L6 and all of that. In all honesty i'm not sure if PSUs can take a Hot/Hot/Ground in 240v or if it has to be Hot/Neutral/Ground.