spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

SamanthaMe

@comcast.net

[Connectivity] Arris TM702G

I'm a new Comcast cable & voice customer, and at install they came with an Arris TM702G/CT cable modem. It is a DOCSIS 3.0 EMTA modem with two lines for VoIP, on lease from Comcast.

The trouble is, I don't want to lease, I want to buy my own, but Comcast said I can't and that no one sells it. Looking online, I cannot find this modem for purchase. Is there an alternative / comparable modem I can purchase instead that offers the same features / specifications?

Thanks in advance.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:5
said by SamanthaMe :

I'm a new Comcast cable & voice customer, and at install they came with an Arris TM702G/CT cable modem. It is a DOCSIS 3.0 EMTA modem with two lines for VoIP, on lease from Comcast.

The trouble is, I don't want to lease, I want to buy my own, but Comcast said I can't and that no one sells it. Looking online, I cannot find this modem for purchase. Is there an alternative / comparable modem I can purchase instead that offers the same features / specifications?

Thanks in advance.
a simple search would have told you no....only certain shops let you buy them...most dont.....

its a safety/lawsuit issue.....due to 911.....if comcast keeps phone equip in house, there can be no issues whena 911 concern is raised (he said she said crap)

SamanthaMe

@comcast.net
Thank you for the post. No comments on your "simple easy search" reply ....

So the Arris TM702G can't be bought from elsewhere. Is there an alternative / comparable to it? Different manufacturer? There was no comment as to that.

Also, sorry, but the reasoning with 911 / lawsuit issues doesn't make much sense. They told me when I signed up with them that I could either lease or buy one. Not the case.

jjv124

join:2009-11-21
Hanover, PA
said by SamanthaMe :