spc
Search similar:

uniqs
msimonds8
join:2008-06-17

msimonds8

Repeater that works with FIOS actiontec router

Was wondering if anyone can help

I have fios actiontec router, which is on the corner office of my house. I want to purchase a repeater or access point so I can extend my wireless better throughout my house.

Has anyone been able to do this and if so, can someone give me a compatible device to purchase?

I am new to this and i am sorry if this is posted in the wrong forums, but this is the best place that I found to post this question.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks in advance!!

~Mike

JoeIac
Premium Member
join:2009-03-02
MA

1 edit

JoeIac

Premium Member

Hi,
my suggestion would be to not use a repeater, but if your house is wired with coax, to take advantage of MoCA and put another actiontec (usually ~$25 on ebay) in another room that has coax.

This FAQ details how to get an actiontec into another room, »Verizon FiOS FAQ »Can I get an ethernet connection in a room with only coax? and also points out how to keep the wireless on, so that it functions as a wireless access point.

I have been extremely successful in doing this at both my home, and at a family vacation home, where the router is in the basement, and an actiontec connected via coax has been deployed upstairs.

And as a plus, if the SSID's and WEP / WPA / WPA2 keys are identical, then the computer will seamlessly roam between access points.

Now, if you are looking for a regular repeater, i have not heard of any reported incompatibilities with the actiontec, but due to the simplicity, and the better performance of the solution i just outlined, it seems to be the one people generally stick to. If you want suggestions for a pure-repeater, I'm sure others will be by soon to offer them, but i figured that this would be a good start.

- Joeiac

Edit:
sounds like repeaters will NOT work with the actiontec or westell

aaronwt
Premium Member
join:2004-11-07
Woodbridge, VA
Asus RT-AX89