spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

jbcamel

@comcast.net

battery backup for digital voice modem

I have Comcast digital voice. When I lose power the phone only works for about 2 hours, that's assuming I only make one or two very short calls. VERY short.

It was suggested by a Comcast tech that I get a battery backup to give me more time. He couldn't give me any specifics on what kind or how much they cost.

Does anyone have this? Any suggestions of which one to get? Something that's not too expensive since I only want it for the modem.

I've looked but I can't seem to get info on how many hours of extra time I'll get.

Thanks

Jane

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4
said by jbcamel :

I have Comcast digital voice. When I lose power the phone only works for about 2 hours, that's assuming I only make one or two very short calls. VERY short.

It was suggested by a Comcast tech that I get a battery backup to give me more time. He couldn't give me any specifics on what kind or how much they cost.

Does anyone have this? Any suggestions of which one to get? Something that's not too expensive since I only want it for the modem.

I've looked but I can't seem to get info on how many hours of extra time I'll get.

Thanks

Jane
the emta batteries should last longer then 2 hours....usually 3-4..... is your modem dying? or does it lose sync?

reason asking is because the plant power supplies do have batteries and can last up 6+ hours, but thats under minimal load, very minimum....most last 2-3 hours.... that could also be a reason why when your area loses power, your phone dies as well....

»www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a···-Product

something like this would help out, probably an extra 3-4 hours if the modem is the only thing plugged in....

but then you would be to the point where i mentioned about the plant power supplies dying as well....

jbcamel

@comcast.net