Harrison Township, MI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse
·WOW Internet and..

1 edit

3 recommendations

[F@H] My very first folding machine

My first windows SMP folding machine that is. Recently retired a very lightly used and SLOW single processor computer with a Intel Q6600 quad processor. Figured I'd try and see if I could manage to run this new-fangled SMP Folding@Home client on it.

I'm pretty pleased with myself, considering it's my first time...

I followed the Windows SMP client installation instructions (MPICH version) antbhill2 See Profile was kind enough to provide a link to in another thread »folding.stanford.edu/English/Win···ideMPICH

I did not attempt to set up a service, instead I created a new shortcut to the FAH executable, and added -smp -verbosity 9 as arguments to the shortcut properties target field.

C:\fah\fah6.exe -smp -verbosity 9

I launched the program by double clicking on the shortcut and was rewarded by seeing the command window open up and give me the familiar logfile entries.

I added a copy of the shortcut to the startup folder for good measure

My first work unit should go home in three hours or so.

Wed May 26 00:57:52 EDT 2010
CPU:  Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU    Q6600  @ 2.40GHz
Client Version 6.29
  core URL: http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/x86/Core_a3.fah (V2.19)
(Windows) Core Version 2.19 (Mar 12, 2010)
Current Work Unit
-----------------
Name: p6050_Mutant_scan
Tag: P6050R1C83G8
Download time: May 25 19:35:53
Due time: May 31 19:35:53
Progress: 79%  [|||||||___]
Project: 6050 (Run 1, Clone 83, Gen 8) 481.00 pts (71.956 pt/hr, 1725.13 ppd)

--
Hello, my name is Bill and I'm a crunchaholic...

Proud to be the current host of Crunchenstein #1, #3, #5, and Foldy #3

mouseferatu
Too many cats, Too many mice
Premium,MVM
join:2004-03-16
Im not sure
kudos:3

Congratulations!

I would have been pretty surprised iff'in you couldn't get the "new-fangled" thing working...