site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
1547
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·ALL ·Review Your VoIP Provider ·VoIP Providers ·VoIP FAQ ·Porting Rules ·What Codec?
AuthorAll Replies

mieses

join:2001-06-22
Redmond, WA

1 edit

Is vonagebonus.com a phishing scam?

I just received an SMS about vonagebonus.com. It feels like a scam. The site is copying Vonage branding and could fool some people.

»vonagebonus.com/


newview
Ex .. Ex .. Exactly
Premium
join:2001-10-01
Parsonsburg, MD
kudos:1

I vote scam / phishing site . . . Vonage doesn't use Yahoo for it's DNS Servers . . .

Domain Name.......... vonagebonus.com
  Creation Date........ 2010-08-10
  Registration Date.... 2010-08-10
  Expiry Date.......... 2011-08-10
  Organisation Name.... vonagebonus
  Organisation Address. PO Box 61359
  Organisation Address. 
  Organisation Address. Sunnyvale
  Organisation Address. 94088
  Organisation Address. CA
  Organisation Address. US
 
Admin Name........... Admin PrivateRegContact
  Admin Address........ PO Box 61359
  Admin Address........ 
  Admin Address........ Sunnyvale
  Admin Address........ 94088
  Admin Address........ CA
  Admin Address........ US
  Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com
  Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002
  Admin Fax............ 
 
Tech Name............ TECH PrivateRegContact
  Tech Address......... PO Box 61359
  Tech Address......... 
  Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
  Tech Address......... 94088
  Tech Address......... CA
  Tech Address......... US
  Tech Email........... contact@myprivateregistration.com
  Tech Phone........... +1.5105952002
  Tech Fax............. 
  Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com
  Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
 

--
The Rules of Spam


Moorecards

join:2001-10-19
Martinsburg, WV
Reviews:
·Comcast

reply to mieses
Here is a whois for the site:
Just set up today. I wouldn't trust it at all. Maybe email Vontage and let them know about it.

Querying whois.verisign-grs.com]
[whois.verisign-grs.com]Whois Server Version 2.0Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to »www.internic.net
for detailed information. Domain Name: VONAGEBONUS.COM
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Whois Server: whois.melbourneit.com
Referral URL: »www.melbourneit.com
Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM
Name Server: YNS2.YAHOO.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 09-aug-2010
Creation Date: 09-aug-2010
Expiration Date: 09-aug-2011NOTICE: The expiration date displayed in this record is the date the
registrar's sponsorship of the domain name registration in the registry is
currently set to expire. This date does not necessarily reflect the expiration
date of the domain name registrant's agreement with the sponsoring
registrar. Users may consult the sponsoring registrar's Whois database to
view the registrar's reported date of expiration for this registration.

Querying whois.melbourneit.com]
[whois.melbourneit.com]

Domain Name.......... vonagebonus.com
Creation Date........ 2010-08-10
Registration Date.... 2010-08-10

Expiry Date.......... 2011-08-10
Organisation Name.... vonagebonus
Organisation Address. PO Box 61359
Organisation Address.
Organisation Address. Sunnyvale
Organisation Address. 94088
Organisation Address. CA
Organisation Address. US

Admin Name........... Admin PrivateRegContact
Admin Address........ PO Box 61359
Admin Address........
Admin Address........ Sunnyvale
Admin Address........ 94088
Admin Address........ CA
Admin Address........ US
Admin Email.......... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Admin Phone.......... +1.5105952002
Admin Fax............

Tech Name............ TECH PrivateRegContact
Tech Address......... PO Box 61359
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94088
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... US
Tech Email........... contact@myprivateregistration.com
Tech Phone........... +1.5105952002
Tech Fax.............
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com



newview
Ex .. Ex .. Exactly
Premium
join:2001-10-01
Parsonsburg, MD
kudos:1

reply to mieses
Email from Vonage . . .

quote:
Thank you for contacting Vonage Customer Care.

I would like to thank you for letting us know about the website (hxxp://www.vonagebonus.com) that you have noticed. The web-link enclosed in the email is a malicious link. I kindly request you to ignore that link and login to your Online account to use Vonage service. I also request you not to provide any of your personal information in that link. If you have given any of your personal information in that link, kindly login your Online account and change the required details.

Thanks for contacting us.

Sangeetha
Vonage

--
The Rules of Spam

PX Eliezer
Premium
join:2008-08-09
Hutt River
kudos:13

reply to mieses
Thanks for the warning.

-----------------------

Mozilla Firefox is already warning of this as a phishing site.


Wednesday, 22-May 13:06:20 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 13.5 years online © 1999-2013 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics