site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
2623
Share Topic
Posting?
Post a:
Post a:
Links: ·Phish Tracker ·Anti-Phishing Work Group ·Avoid Phishing
AuthorAll Replies


EBMOM3

@comcast.net

[Credit Card Fraud] BEWARE***Fruadulant charges from ICON-MONSTE

JUST A HEADS UP THAT ANOTHER NAME THESE PEOPLE ARE USING IS ICON-MONSTER.COM. A FAKE WEBSITE CLAIMING TO SELL "ICONS". I GOT THE 7.42 CHARGE ON MY DEBIT-VISA LAST WEEK AND IMMEDIATELY CANCELED MY CARD. HOPEFULLY THE SAME DOESN'T HAPPEN WITH THE REPLACEMENT. THIS JUST PLAIN SUCKS. THE SAME EVENING THE CHARGE SHOWED UP, I DID USE PAYPAL, AND MY STUDENT LOAN PAYMENT WENT THROUGH (ONLINE). I'M GUESSING IT'S ON PAYPAL'S END, BUT WHO REALLY KNOWS. WHAT I DON'T GET IS THAT THERE IS SO MUCH INFORMATION HERE IN REGARDS TO THIS WHOLE FRAUD ORGANIZATION, THAT THERE CAN'T BE ANYTHING DONE ABOUT IT.


Snowy
mIRC unix.ro UnderNet
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:5
Reviews:
·RoadRunner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless

1 edit

Re: [Credit Card Fraud] BEWARE***Fruadulant charges from ICON-MO

Sorry that you caught up with this.
Hopefully at some point the crooks behind this will also be sorry that you got snagged by them
There's absolutely zero doubt the site was put in place for the exclusive, sole purpose of illegally extracting funds from stolen credit card data.
The whois data produces 2 red flags
1. A recent creation date
2. The masking of the site's ownership details via a domain anonymity service.
Registration Service Provided By: Active-Domain LLC
Contact: »www.active-domain.com

Domain Name: icon-monster.com
Expiry Date: 16-Jun-2011
Creation Date: 16-Jun-2010


I suppose there could be a site somewhere that's both newly created & used a domain masking service that is legit, but not this one.

The biggest clue is in the shopping cart function.
It's fake.
The supposed shopping cart passes the buyers input in clear text, a sure sign that it's not functional by any standard.

Content-Type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded
Content-Length: 258

x_first_name=Snowy&x_last_name=One&x_address=1313+Mockingbird
+Ln&x_city=Detroit&x_state=MI&x_zip=48201&x_country=US&x_phone
%28800%29+432-1000&x_email=net.vettor
%40gmail.com&x_card_num=4811342387967743&x_exp_date_month=03&x
_exp_date_year=2013&x_card_code=387


The other expected red flags found on a fraudulent site are also present.
e.g., Major emphasis on how to request a refund, minimal attention to site appearance, marginal products etc...

MGD
Premium,MVM
join:2002-07-31
kudos:9

2 edits

reply to EBMOM3

[Credit Card Fraud] BEWARE* Fraudulent charges from ICON-MONSTER

said by EBMOM3 :

JUST A HEADS UP THAT ANOTHER NAME THESE PEOPLE ARE USING IS ICON-MONSTER.COM. A FAKE WEBSITE CLAIMING TO SELL "ICONS". I GOT THE 7.42 CHARGE ON MY DEBIT-VISA LAST WEEK AND IMMEDIATELY CANCELED MY CARD. .............
Thanks for posting, and Kudos for searching and finding the forum. The repository and encyclopedia for documenting the largest and longest continuous global card fraud operation in history. »Ebook websites, fraud charges, Devbill/DigitalAge/Pluto

SCAM FRAUD = ICON-MONSTER.COM = FRAUD SCAM is one of over a dozen similar themed card fraud laundering fake websites, confirmed as being operated by the above organized crime syndicate. The current crop of a dozen plus sites of the "Icon" division were being shadowed for the past several months. They were not posted because no reports of fraud charges could be located. Some were stashed on "factory servers" while others were distributed individually across various hosts and IP addresses, which indicated they were at various stages of functioning with some needing cyber-mule assignments.

I became suspicious due to the extended time frame that some of the sites had been sitting on isolated hostings with no fraud reports. Congratulations on being the first to post a fraud charge of this group at least that I am aware of. However, I suspect that several have been fraud processing in a virtual vacuum of any centralized victim reporting. I now suspect that this Organized Crime Syndicate has taken additional steps in order to reach the final goal of being 100% operationally invisible within the financial and merchant card processing system.

Please post the line item of the fraud charge as it appeared on your statement.

Though it is only a suspicion for now, I am wondering if the unusual complete silence of this fraud division, could be the result of the OCS now being able to manipulate the billing descriptor. The data line coding of what appears on and for the charge, is under the direct and sole control of the merchant account provider. What puzzles me is why there have been no victim reports of fraud charges under any of the listed phone numbers on the card fraud processing websites.

The second item that I need from you, or any victim, is the first 7 digits of the 21 digit Acquirer Reference Number (ARN) for that fraud charge. Since your fraud charge was on a debit card you may have to call your issuing bank and ask them for the ARN number associated with that charge. For now all I need is the first 7 digits, which you can post, because it is unrelated to your identity or card account. The entire number is an unique transaction identifier so only post the first 7 digits in the forum.

said by EBMOM3 :

.... WHAT I DON'T GET IS THAT THERE IS SO MUCH INFORMATION HERE IN REGARDS TO THIS WHOLE FRAUD ORGANIZATION, THAT THERE CAN'T BE ANYTHING DONE ABOUT IT.
Unfortunately, probably the greatest reason is that it is consumers who are paying for the giants share of the cost of this massive fraud operation. All the other participants and contributors are collecting fees along the way. So if consumers are not screaming as a group, there is little incentive for all the others involved, including VISA, MasterCard, and the banks to do anything. Everyone is getting a piece of the action from the consumer victims. That being said, I do know that some merchant providers have taken losses of as much as almost $.25 million on some individual fraud processing merchant accounts. Though it is far from typical.

Snowy See Profile's post above shows an all too common gaping lack of basic vetting. As Snowy See Profile demonstrated, the fraud websites contain no completed code to process a card transactions. One would think that a provider might "check" to see that the thousands of $$ of sales a week, are originating on a website that could actually accept and process a card transaction externally, which they cannot do.

I will eventually post the full details of the shadowed "ICON" group in the main thread. »Ebook websites, fraud charges, Devbill/DigitalAge/Pluto Listed below are some of the card fraud domains, to see if search engines can attract any fraud victims here.

I need for several victims to post the line item of the fraud charge, and if possible the first 7 digits of the related ARN:

SCAM FRAUD = THESCREENART.COM 904-263-5578 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = THADECKSCREEN.COM 813-305-7373 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = WEBTEMPERS.COM 623-399-4354 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = XOBBOSCREEN.COM 443-569-0946 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = MODESIGNSTORE.COM 678-666-0036 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = MEETTHEICONS.COM 952-955-4871 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = A-PLUS-ICONS.COM 252-377-4462 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = WONDERFULICONS.COM 707-682-5738 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = DESIREEFFECT.ORG 360-203-3909 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = ICON-O-MATIC.ORG 262-891-4869 = FRAUD SCAM

SCAM FRAUD = ICON-MONSTER.COM 810-678-9694 = FRAUD SCAM
.

MGD

Friday, 01-Jun 21:29:30 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 12.5 years online © 1999-2012 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics