uniqs
share rss forum feed

paintref
Look, I see stars

join:2003-02-21
Houston, TX
Reviews:
·AT&T U-Verse

Can you carry a copy of your driver's license in Texas?

Can anyone tell me if it is legal in the state of Texas to carry a copy of your driver's license?

Reason I am asking is, I am a volunteer firefighter and when I get a call, I almost always forget to grab my wallet, so what I was thinking of doing is keeping a copy of my license in the car (Yeah I know, be careful when doing this due to the possibility of identity theft).

McSummation
Mmmm, Zeebas Are Tastee.
Premium,MVM
join:2003-08-13
Fort Worth, TX
kudos:2
At the worst, if you showed up for your ticket hearing and showed that you do have a fully valid DL, I think it would be dismissed.

ggmorton

join:2002-07-24
Houston, TX
reply to paintref
I think if you are driving, then yes you need the actual license according to the law.

Otherwise, you don't need to carry it with you.

mr sean
Professional Infidel
Premium,ExMod 2001-07
join:2001-04-03
N. Absentia
kudos:1
reply to paintref
Disclaimer: I am NOT a lawyer, nor will they allow me to portray one on TV

When operating a motor vehicle the driver is required to have a valid (read original, referencing your question) driver's license on his/her person. A copy is not legal under the letter of the law in the state of Texas, though the temporary paper copy issued by the DPS is valid till issuance of permanent card.

Although Texas does not currently have a so called "stop and identify" law that I am aware of, there is this statute:

Texas Penal Code, Title 8, §38.02(a)
A person commits an offense if he intentionally refuses to give his name, residence address, or date of birth to a peace officer who has lawfully arrested the person and requested the information.